The Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program issues rebates for solar electric systems and paired solar and solar storage systems for residential customers and low-income service providers in Oregon.
The Oregon Legislature passed a bill in the 2021 session to allocate an additional $10 Million for this program. ODOE will work to relaunch the program, including potential rulemaking activities
. Please sign up to receive email updates about the program.
Update for Solar Contractors
During 2020, ODOE successfully reserved or rebated the original $1.5 million available for solar rebates; at the end of 2020, funding for our program staff ended. To relaunch the program in 2021, ODOE is in the process of hiring new staff, reviewing and updating our administrative rules to address the fund availability schedule and contractor eligibility standards, and reviewing our internal procedures with the goal of increasing efficiency and accuracy.
We do not have a date yet for re-opening the program, but we will issue periodic updates. Contractors and homeowners may want to review the Project Eligibility standards at Oregon Secretary of State Administrative Rules 330-240-0030
, which includes, among other requirements, that 1) the system must be installed by an eligible contractor; 2) the contractor must submit a reservation application before starting construction or installation of a solar system or paired solar and storage system
in order to be eligible for a rebate; and 3) the systems must follow electric utility-specific rules and regulations, as well as other technical and programmatic requirements. You can review Solar + Storage Rebate Program Oregon Secretary of State Administrative Rules
How Much is Available for Rebates?
ODOE had $2 million allocated for rebates and program administration.
- In a calendar year, at least 25 percent of available rebate dollars will be reserved for systems for low- or moderate-income residential customers and low-income service providers.
- In a calendar year, no more than 50 percent of available rebate dollars may be used to issue rebates for non-residential solar or solar plus storage systems.
processed on a first-come, first-served basis for complete applications.
Incomplete applications will not be approved nor funds reserved until missing items/information are
provided. We will update this page with remaining funds as rebates are reserved.
Low- and Moderate-Income Households and Low-Income Service Providers (LMI)
|Reserved Funds (as of 9/22/2020)||$810,000|
|Remaining Rebate Budget for LMI Requests||$0|
Non-Income Restricted Residential Rebates
|Reserved Funds (as of 9/16/2020)||$690,000|
|Remaining Rebate Budget (non-restricted)||$0|
Important Budget Note
The Oregon Legislature adjusted funding for the Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate
Program to focus more dollars on low- and moderate-income residential customers
and low-income service providers. The action moved $60,000 from the
non-income restricted rebate bucket into the bucket for those lower-income
customers and service providers.
How Much is an Individual Rebate?
Rebates may cover up to 40 percent of the net cost* for a residential system installed for a customer that is not considered low- or moderate-income, up to 60 percent of net cost for a low- or moderate-income customer, and up to 50 percent for a low-income service provider.
For residential projects, the maximum rebate is $5,000 for a solar electric system and $2,500 for an energy storage system. For low-income service providers, the caps are $30,000 for solar electric and $15,000 for an energy storage system. See the Administrative Rules for detailed incentive calculations for solar
*ODOE defines the net cost of a system as the total of all eligible costs minus any incentive provided by an electric utility or by Energy Trust of Oregon.
Am I Eligible for a Rebate?
Solar and storage installations must be installed on real property in Oregon by an ODOE-approved contractor. In the case of a paired solar and storage system, they must be purchased together by the same approved contractor. Solar installations must also meet minimum Total Solar Resource Fraction measurements (your contractor will calculate this) and other required technical criteria.
Low- or Moderate-Income Residential Customers
Customers can qualify under the Low- or Moderate-Income program one of three ways:
- The homeowner is determined eligible for certain Oregon Housing and Community Services programs. See LMI Eligibility Option 1 form for more information.
- The homeowner is determined eligible for certain Oregon Department of Human Services or Oregon Health Authority programs. See LMI Eligibility Option 2 form for more information
- The homeowner can prove qualifying household income. The homeowner must provide an Oregon Department of Revenue tax transcript for each tax filer residing at the household physical address. See LMI Eligibility Option 3 form for more information
Low-Income Service Providers
Organizations eligible as "low-income service providers" include:
- Developers/owners of affordable multifamily housing that are eligible for public assistance administered by Oregon Housing & Community Services.
- A community service organization (public, tribal, or a 501(c) nonprofit) whose primary purpose is to offer health, dental, social, financial, energy conservation, or other assistive services to households below 100 percent of the state median income by household size.
- A tribal or local government entity, such as a city, county, or school district that uses public buildings to provide services to low- or moderate-income individuals, or to provide emergency shelter and/or communications in disaster situations.
See the Administrative Rules
for complete eligibility requirements. Community service organizations and tribal or local government entities are encouraged to email us
to become qualified as an eligible low-income service provider.
How Do I Receive a Rebate?
Rebates are paid to the ODOE-approved contractor who installs the system. The rebate amount will be passed on to the customer as savings on the net cost of the system. Contractors may begin submitting rebate reservations at 8 a.m. on January 22, 2020.
How Do I Find an Approved Contractor?
How Do I Become an Approved Contractor?
Interested contractors can sign up through ODOE's customer service portal
. First-time users must begin by clicking on "register" to create an account. You may then sign in to complete the requested information. ODOE staff will follow up to confirm successful enrollment in the program.
Contractors will use PowerClerk
to reserve rebates and complete the application process. ODOE has developed an online user guide for contractors
to use the PowerClerk system. Please contact the Solar + Storage Rebate Team if you have questions.
||HB 2618 passed by the Oregon Legislature|
|August 9, 2019
||HB 2618 signed by Governor Brown|
|September 29, 2019
||HB 2618 effective date (91 days after sine die)|
||Program rulemaking process|
|December 19, 2019||Administrative Rules filed with the Secretary of State|
|January 1, 2020
||Program launch, contractors may sign up for the program|
|January 22, 2020||Contractors may begin submitting rebate reservations|
|April 15, 2020||An additional $375,000 in available funding for non-income restricted rebates will be released for reservations|
|August 2020||The Oregon Legislature adjusted funding for the Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program to focus more dollars on low- and moderate-income residential customers and low-income service providers. The action moves $60,000 from the non-income restricted rebate bucket into the bucket for those lower-income customers and service providers.|
|September 2020||ODOE submitted its 2020 Report to the Legislature|