Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Training and Certification

How to Become a Peer Support Specialist (PSS) or Peer Wellness Specialist (PWS)

Anyone who is at least 18 years of age and identifies as:

  • A current or former consumer of addictions or mental health services; 
  • A person in recovery from addictions; 
  • A person in recovery from problem gambling; or 
  • A family member of a current or former consumer of addictions or mental health services.​​

​The Traditional Health Worker website ​provides complete information about training requirements and approved training programs. Requirements include:

Peer Wellness Specialists (PWS) must complete an 80-hour training program​.

Peer Support Specialists (PSS) must complete a 40-hour training program.

PWS and PSS may waive these training requirements if they submit required documentation with their certification application by June 30, 2025. See Section 3 of Orego​n Administrative Rule 410-180-0325 to learn more.

To apply for certifi​cation:

All applicants must pass a criminal history background check.

  • MHACBO will perform the background check for CRMs.
  • OHA will perform the background check for other applicants.​​

PSS and PWS must recertify every three years as described on OHA's Recertification Process page​.  

​To qualify for recertification, PSS and PWS must complete 20 hours of continuing education as described in OHA's Continuing Education Requirements.

The Traditional Health Worker website lists the approved Continuing Education programs that meet OHA requirements.