Skip to main content Homepage

Promoting Interoperability (Meaningful Use) in Public Health

Promoting Interoperability (PI) Programs

Previously known as Meaningful Use EHR Incentive Programs

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) established the Promoting Interoperability Programs in 2011 to encourage eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals (EHs) and critical access hospitals (CAHs) to adopt, implement, upgrade and successfully demonstrate meaningful use of certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT). The Medicare and Medicaid PI Programs were designed to measure the use of CEHRT in three stages:


Established requirements for the electronic capture of clinical data.


Expanded upon the Stage 1 criteria with a focus on advancing clinical processes and ensuring that the meaningful use of EHRs supported the aims and priorities of the National Quality Strategy. Stage 2 criteria encourages use of CEHRT for continuous quality improvement at the point of care and the exchange of information in the most structured format possible.

In October 2015, CMS released the “Medicare and Medicaid Programs Electronic Health Record Incentive Program - Stage 3 and Modifications to Meaningful Use,” which modified Stage 2 requirements to streamline reporting requirements on measures that had become redundant, duplicative, or topped out.


Established in 2017 as a result of the 2015 final rule. Stage 3 focuses on using CEHRT to improve health outcomes.

Who is Eligible for EHR Incentive Dollars?

Eligible Providers (EP)

  • There are five categories of providers eligible for incentive payments: physicians, dentists, certified nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. These providers must have 30 percent of their patient encounters billed to the Oregon Health Plan (OHP).
  • EPs from Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) and rural health centers have a less stringent definition, which is that 30 percent of their patients must be low income individuals.
  • All providers must have an active National Provider Identifier (NPI) number.

Eligible Hospitals (EH)

  • There are two categories of hospitals eligible for incentive payments: Acute Care Hospitals (including Critical Access Hospitals and Cancer Hospitals), and Children's Hospitals.
  • Acute Care Hospitals must have at least 10 percent Medicaid patient volume.
  • Children's Hospitals are not subject to any Medicaid patient volume requirements.

For more information about eligibility and 2018 program requirements, visit the CMS PI website.

How Can I Participate?

The Oregon Public Health Division is excited that you are interested in participating. The data you provide help us achieve our vision of a healthy Oregon.

PLEASE NOTE: You must first register and apply for Oregon's Medicaid EHR Incentive Program through the Oregon Office of Health IT before you register intent with the Public Health Division.

Measures that can be met under the public health objectives in Oregon

To meet any measure, EPs and EHs must be actively engaged in the onboarding process, which can be demonstrated by:

  • Registration of intent
  • Message testing and validation - OR - ongoing submission of production messages

Frequently Asked Questions

Register Intent: Public Health Objectives

Oregon providers that intend to submit data to the Oregon Public Health Division to meet the public health objectives for PI are required to register their intent within 60 days of the start of their reporting period.

Providers that have achieved ongoing submission prior to Stage 2 are not required to register.

Contact Us

Public Health Division Operations

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how