Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Rules and Statutes

OARs and ORS

Browse this listing of links to Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) and Statute (ORS) and resources related to the legal authority of the EMS & Trauma Program. Resources listed here include continuing education requirements and exhibits referenced in OAR 333-200 and OAR 333-205.

On this page:

Proposed Rules

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

The Oregon Health Authority (Authority), Public Health Division, EMS and Trauma Systems program is proposing to permanently amend Oregon Administrative Rules in chapters 333, divisions 250, 255 and 265 relating to the licensing requirements for ambulance service agencies, ambulance vehicles and EMS providers. The proposed amendments seek to:

  • Update the definition of "patient" given passage of SB 29 (2019 Oregon Laws Chapter 456, Section 51) during the 2019 legislative session;
  • Direct agencies to OAR chapter 333, division 019 for purposes of employee tuberculosis (TB) screening and recent guidance issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;
  • Add a definition for criminal records check and clarify criminal records check language;
  • Clarify CPR course requirements for purposes of licensure;
  • Remove references to fees that are no longer collected and add prorated fees for reinstatement, initial licensure and licensure by reciprocity;
  • Provide clarification on continuing education requirements for persons seeking to reinstate a license;
  • Reduce the time period from 12 months to three months in which an EMS provider can reinstate an expired license by providing evidence of completion of continuing education;
  • Increase the time frame for which a provider must complete a reinstatement program from 12 months to 21 months; and
  • Apply a more equitable distribution of continuing education credits for Emergency Medical Responders and EMT-Intermediates when an initial licensee has less than 24 months before the license expires.
Further details can be found in the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing available below. 

Persons are being invited to review and comment on the proposed rules. Oral testimony may be presented at a public hearing scheduled as follows:

March 9, 2020
11:00 a.m.
Room 1-E
800 NE Oregon Street
Portland OR 97232

Written comments may be filed before 5:00 p.m. on March 10, 2020 to:

OHA, Public Health Division
Brittany Hall, Administrative Rules Coordinator
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 930
Portland, Oregon 97232

Comments may also be submitted by email to: publichealth.rules@state.or.us or sent by fax to: (971) 673-1299.

Final rules will be filed after consideration of all comments. 

New and Amended Rules

Ambulance Vehicle Rules 

The Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division has permanently adopted, amended and repealed Oregon Administrative Rules in chapter 333, division 255 relating to the licensing requirements for ambulance vehicles. The revised rules:
  • Add new definitions and modify existing definitions; 
  • Make general updates consistent with current practice and Oregon Revised Statutes; 
  • Remove references to marine ambulance; 
  • Implement national standard criteria for ambulance vehicle construction; 
  • Require ambulance vehicles be inspected by a certified Emergency Vehicle Technician (EVT) ambulance clinician if certain criteria are not met; 
  • Clarify the type of service provided by an ambulance and staffing requirements; 
  • Revise equipment requirements; 
  • Revise training and education necessary for air ambulance personnel; 
  • Standardize language with other facility licensing rules including adding sections on complaints, investigation and enforcement.
Ambulance vehicle rules were further clarified in August 2019 by removing duplicative information (OAR 333-255-0010) and clarifying construction criteria (OAR 333-255-0060). 

Prehospital Patient Care Reporting

In response to passage of SB 52 (OL 2017, chapter 229), the Oregon Health Authority (Authority), Public Health Division has permanently amended and adopted rules in chapter 333, division 250 related to prehospital patient care reporting. These rules  establish mandatory, electronic prehospital patient care data reporting for licensed ambulance service agencies. Ambulance service agencies are required to report a standardized set of patient encounter data to the Oregon Health Authority's, Oregon Emergency Medical Services Information System (OR-EMSIS) and rules identify requirements necessary for the use and disclosure of patient encounter and outcome data. Non-transporting EMS agencies that choose to voluntarily report patient encounter data and wish to receive hospital outcome data will be required to comply with the rules promulgated. Ambulance service agencies that have difficulty in obtaining necessary reporting software may request a temporary waiver from the Authority. The rules are effective January 1, 2018 and ambulance service agencies will have until January 1, 2019 to come into compliance.

Prehospital Patient Care Reporting Rule Changes (pdf)
Prehospital Patient Care Reporting Frequently Asked Questions (pdf)

Ambulance Service Agency Providing Secure Transport

Approval of secure transport providers is addressed in OAR 309-033-0432 through 0437. Ambulance service agencies wishing to provide secure transport or have questions about the approval process should contact Sam Dickson at samuel.n.dickson@state.or.us.
OAR chapter 309, division 033 (Reference OARs 309-033-0432 through 0437)
OAR chapter 333, division 250 [Reference OAR 333-250-0265(1)(j) and OAR 333-250-0270(3)(b)]

Temporary Rules

There are no temporary rules in effect at this time.

Oregon Administrative Rules

OAR 333-200

Oregon Trauma System Rules and Exhibits

PDF iconExhibit 1 - Oregon Trauma System Area Map
PDF iconExhibit 2 - Guidelines for Field Triage of Injured Patients
PDF iconExhibit 3 - Oregon Hospital Trauma Team Activation Criteria
PDF iconExhibit 4 - Oregon Trauma Hospital Resource Standards (Revised 9/25/2018)
PDF iconExhibit 5 - Oregon Criteria for Consideration of Transfer to a Level I or Level II Trauma Center
OAR 333-205 Oregon Trauma System Hospital Identification in Trauma Area #1 
OAR 333-250 Ambulance Service Licensing
OAR 333-255 Ambulance Licensing
OAR 333-260 Ambulance Service Areas
OAR 333-265

EMS Providers

OAR 847-035 EMS Providers and EMS Supervising Physicians Scope of Practice 
(Oregon Medical Board)
OAR 333-055

Programs to Treat Allergic Response, Adrenal Insufficiency, Hypoglycemia and Opiate Overdose

   

Oregon Revised Statutes

ORS 431A Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Systems
ORS 431A.105 Emergency Medical Services for Children Program
ORS 433.800-830 Programs to Treat Allergic Response, Adrenal Insufficiency or Hypoglycemia
ORS 682 Regulation of Ambulance Services and Emergency Medical Services Providers
ORS 030 "Good Samaritan Law" - see ORS 030.800
ORS 041 Confidentiality of patient records in general - see ORS 041.675 - 041.685
ORS 431A Confidentiality under the Oregon Trauma System - see ORS 431A.090(4)(a)
ORS 431A.455 Automated External Defibrillator (AED) required at places of public assembly
ORS 676 Health Professionals Reporting and Complaints - see ORS 676.150 - 676.180
ORS 183 Administrative Procedure Act
ORS 820 Exemptions from traffic laws: Ambulance and Emergency Vehicles - see ORS 820.300 - 820.380

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×