Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

EMS Provider Licensure

ems logo

Oregon Health Authority's Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Systems Program licenses these professionals in the state of Oregon:

  • Emergency Medical Responders (EMR)
  • Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT)
  • Advanced EMT (AEMT)
  • EMT-Intermediate (EMT-I)
  • Paramedics

Oregon Licensing Information

Create an account and apply for an initial license on the eLicense website.

If an emergency medical service provider has been on active military duty for more than six months of a renewal period which prevented them from accessing continuing education, OHA-EMS may approve an extension of the current license to permit obtaining the required educational hours.

If you need to request a military extension submit your request to: EMS.PSU@state.or.us

Licenses that expired June 30, 2016 are no longer eligible for reinstatement.

Licenses that expire June 30, 2017 will be eligible for reinstatement through June 30, 2018.

License expired past June 30, 2018 may be re-activated through June 30, 2019, but will require the applicant to:

  • Submit application in eLicense and pay a late fee of $40.00
  • Submit a current certification from the National Registry of EMTs (NREMT)
  • Complete a criminal history background check (see "Background Checks" below)

​OHA-EMS may allow an out-of-state EMS provider to obtain a temporary Oregon license in order to assist with emergency medical needs of staff on wildland fire response teams.

In order to be eligible for a temporary, restricted Oregon license, the EMS provider must be actively licensed and in good standing in another state and must also hold a current certification from the National Registry of EMTs (NREMT).

Further information on the application and approval process may be found in the document below:

For more information, contact Leslie.D.Huntington@state.or.us or OHA-EMS at 971-673-0520.

​As of January 1, 2018, all initial applicants must submit finger prints.

All renewal license applications require a criminal history background check.

  • Oregon residents who have not lived or been outside the state for more than 60 consecutive days in last 5 years, or since last licensed will be run through Oregon's Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS)
  • Non-Oregon residents or applicants who have been outside the state for more than 60 consecutive days in last 5 years, or since last licensed will be subject to an FBI fingerprint-based national background check.
  • Fingerprint information (How to obtain and submit fingerprints)

​Visit the Oregon Reciprocity page for reciprocity application requirements.

Resources

Mailing Address

EMS & Trauma Systems Program
800 NE Oregon Street
Suite 305
Portland, OR 97232

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×