Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

THW Training Programs

This page provides information on OHA-Approved training programs for all THW worker types.

People seeking to become a Traditional Health Worker need to meet the training requirements for their worker type in order to qualify for state certification.

Community Health Workers, Peer Wellness Specialists, Personal Health Navigators, and Peer Support Specialists, including the subtypes of Family Support Specialist and Youth Support Specialist, must complete an OHA-Approved training program for that worker type. Specific requirements for each worker type can be found on the How to Become a THW.

Birth Doulas As of October 1, 2022, Birth Doula's who are seeking to become certified and be added to the registry, and who have yet to take a 28-hour Birth Doula foundational training must take and complete an OHA-Approved Training Program for Birth Doulas.

MHACBO is no longer transmitting new or renewing CRM's to the Oregon Health Authority to be converted to Peer Support Specialists and placed on the Traditional Healthcare Worker registry. 

News and Announcements


Upcoming Training Opportunities

Approved Continuing Education Trainings

Find an Approved THW Training Program

The following training programs will require a fee that you need to pay on your own. Oregon Health Authority State Certification and Registration is free once training requirements are met.