Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Resources and Technical Assistance

The Medicaid Electronic Health Record Incentive (EHR) Program launched in September 2011 and concluded December 31, 2021 with the ending of the federal funding opportunity.


Oregon Health Information Technology Council website

Health Information Technology Oversight Council (HITOC) is a statutory body of Governor-appointed, Senate-confirmed citizens, tasked with setting goals and developing a strategic health information technology plan for the state, as well as monitoring progress in achieving those goals and providing oversight for the implementation of the plan. HITOC is currently coordinating Oregon's public and private statewide efforts in electronic health records adoption and the development of a statewide system for electronic health information exchange. The HITOC builds on the past work of the Health Information Infrastructure Advisory Committee (HIIAC) and the Health Information Security  and Privacy Collaborative (HISPC).

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website

This is the official website for the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record Incentive Programs and provides up-to-date, detailed information about the program. This is a new program funded by ARRA federal stimulus dollars, and it is separate from other active CMS incentive programs, such as Physicians Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI), Reporting Hospital Quality Data for Annual Payment Update (RHQDAPU) and e-Prescribing.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) is at the forefront of the administration's health IT efforts and is a resource to the entire health system to support the adoption of health information technology and the promotion of health information exchange to improve health care. ONC is organizationally located within the Office of the Secretary for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Webinars

Get answers to your 2019 attestation questions through one of our webinars. You can also find an introduction to the Clinical Quality Metrics Registry, as well as a variety webinars covering other topics.

Log in to MAPIR here

Log in to the Clinical Quality Metrics Registry (CQMR) here


Technical Assistance

Oregon’s Medicaid Meaningful Use Technical Assistance Program

The Oregon Medicaid Meaningful Use Technical Assistance Program (OMMUTAP) completed its planned 3-year run, which spanned spring 2016 through spring 2019. The Program was created by the Oregon Health Authority to help eligible providers maximize their investments in electronic health records (EHRs), meet federal Meaningful Use requirements, and assess and address EHR-related security risks to their practice.
The Program offered a suite of no-cost services to help certain Medicaid providers. Over the course of the Program, 1,588 providers across 374 clinics participated. Some providers received multiple types of assistance.
Technical Assistance Selected:
  • Certified EHR Adoption, Implementation, and Upgrade Assistance: 23 providers
  • Interoperability Consulting and Technical Assistance: 541 providers
  • Risk and Security Training and Assessment: 762 providers
  • Meaningful Use Education and Attestation Assistance: 262 providers
Learn more about OMMUTAP here

Meaningful Use

Meaningful use requirements are a set of 10 Objectives that demonstrate whether a provider is using his or her certified electronic health record technology in a "meaningful" way. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 specifies three main components of meaningful use:

  • The use of a certified EHR in a meaningful manner, such as e-prescribing.
  • The use of certified EHR technology for electronic exchange of health information to improve quality of health care.
  • The use of certified EHR technology to submit clinical quality and other measures.

The criteria for meaningful use has been staged in three steps:

  • Stage 1 (2011 and 2012) set the baseline for electronic data capture and information sharing.
  • Stage 2 (2013 – 2017) focuses on advanced clinical processes and OMMUTAP Sunset
  • Stage 3 (starting in 2017) will continue to expand the focus of Stage 1 and 2, as well as focus on improved outcomes

Oregon's Public Health Meaningful Use Requirements

In order to achieve meaningful use, eligible professionals and hospitals must demonstrate they are in active engagement with a public health agency to submit electronic public health data from certified EHR technology, except where prohibited and in accordance with applicable laws in practice.

Please see the following for more information:

Medicaid Eligible Hospital Modified Stage 2 – Objective 9

Medicaid Eligible Hospital Stage 3 – Objective 8

Medicaid Eligible Professional Modified Stage 2 – Objective 10

Medicaid Eligible Professional Stage 3 – Objective 8