Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) Information
*The Board no longer offers a law exam for one hour of Oregon CPE.
Laws & Rules
Oregon CPE Program Approval Application & Information
**All CPE applications must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the date of the program to be considered for approval.
To submit a CPE program for approval as a provider or attendee, follow the steps below:
- Complete the application
- Incomplete applications will not be approved
- Indicate the number and type of CPE hours requested: Law, Safety/Error Prevention, Pain, Cultural Competency, On-site Training (CPT only) or "other topic" related to pharmacy/health
2. Email your completed pdf application and all related program documents to firstname.lastname@example.org
(you will be notified after the application has been processed).
3. Providers also must:
- Maintain attendance records for three years after the program.
- Supply participants with a “proof of attendance” certificate.
- The required attendee certificate must contain:
- Date of the program
- Participant’s name
- Program Title
- Program type(s) and number of hours provided
- Sponsoring organization
- Signature of authorized person of the sponsoring organization, including contact information (email is preferred)
- A statement that the program is Oregon Board approved; and program number
- The Oregon Board of Pharmacy recognizes Continuing Medical Education (CME) designated as AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and can be applied toward CPE hours required for RPH and CPT license renewals. This type of CME does NOT need additional approval. When attending this type of programming, be sure to retain your certificate(s) of attendance, with the AMA PRA designation, as course completion in the event of an audit.
- CPE hours may be earned as a PREPARER of a CPE program. OAR 855-021-0010(7) states that a maximum of 20 hours may be earned in any licensing cycle by preparing and presenting CPE programs. Pharmacists presenting CPE programs may earn one contact hour for preparation time of one hour or more, plus credit for the actual contact hour time of the presentation. A pharmacist must show content of the course, and a description of the intended audience (e.g. pharmacists, physicians, nurses, etc.). Note: Public service programs, such as presentations to school children or service clubs, are not eligible for presentation CPE credit.
- Licensees may request Oregon CPE (non-ACPE) for the policy and rule discussion portions of an Oregon Board of Pharmacy board meeting by completing this request form. Credit will be issued in 15 minute increments. Attendance will be verified against records retained by the agency for the board meeting.