
 
 

The Student Driver Training Fund 
(The money that is used for Driver Education in Oregon) 

 
Oregon is a very fortunate state in many ways.  One of those ways is how we provide 
driver education funding to the approved providers in the state.  While many states have 
no money for this important benefit, Oregon has established the Student Driver Training 
Fund (SDTF) for Oregon teens. 
 
Here are the facts about the Student Driver Training Fund (SDTF): 
 

• When Oregonians obtain a driver license or renew their license, $6.00 of the fee 
is set aside for the SDTF.  The fund helps pay for the important work of driver 
training for teens. 
 

• The SDTF is only available to Oregon teens between the ages of 15 and 17.  
The fund is dedicated to defray the costs of driver training during the permit 
phase of a teens GDL1 license process.  The requirement for driver training is 
removed when a teen turns 18 or obtains their provisional license at age 16 or 
17. 
 

• A teen under 18 years of age that already has obtained a driver license is not 
eligible for the SDTF subsidy since the fund is established to help teens during 
the permit phase. 
 

• Oregon Revised Statute 336.810 is the legislation that establishes and protects 
the fund.  These funds reimburse approved providers up to $210.00 for each 
student (ORS 336.805)2 for qualified teen instruction. 

 
We know that driver education is changing the economy of traffic safety for Oregon 
teens and that it is valuable for teens no matter what age they choose to take the 
approved course.  The training is worth it.  The SDTF just can’t cover it if they’re 18 or 
older. 
 
 
For the full Attorney General Opinion on the use of the SDTF, click here 

1 GDL is an acronym for Graduated Driver Licensing and is the state mandated program for novice teen 
drivers to enter the process of becoming a safe, responsible driver. 
2 The Department of Human Services (DHS) is also reimbursed (under 336.807) when they pay the 
parent portion of the cost of an approved course for a Foster child. 

                                            

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/docs/DE/SDTF%20Opinion%20GEN74073%20pp%209-12.pdf

