Air Toxics



The purpose of Air Toxics Science Advisory Committee is to provide DEQ and the Lane Regional Air Protection Agency, with advice on the state air toxics program that is scientifically and technically sound, independent, balanced, useful and timely. The committee's responsibilities are outlined in Oregon Administrative Rule.

The committee is intended solely as a technical advisory body, not as a committee designed to reflect stakeholder views. The committee's charge does not include policy recommendations. In addition to technical issues, the committee addresses:

  • Risk assessment and engineering issues, not risk management decisions
  • Adequacy of the scientific foundation on which a DEQ position (e.g., ambient benchmark values) is based, not the position itself.

The committee will be providing expertise related to:

  • Reviewing ambient benchmarks for the state air toxics program
  • Reviewing and revising short-term guidelines.

Other responsibilities of the committee include:

  • Providing advice on development of a risk assessment methodology for the Air Toxics Safety Net Program
  • Evaluating potential sources identified by DEQ to determine whether they qualify for the Air Toxics Safety Net Program
  • Evaluating overall progress in reducing emissions of, and exposure to, air toxics by considering trends in emissions and ambient concentrations
  • Periodically advising DEQ on air toxics program effectiveness
  • Making technical recommendations for program development with respect to adverse environmental effects of air toxics and risk from exposure to multiple air toxics
  • Providing, as requested by DEQ, advisory opinions on questions requiring scientific expertise.

The committee must have at least five but no more than seven members with relevant air toxics experience in the following six disciplines:

  • Toxicology
  • Environmental science or engineering
  • Risk assessment
  • Epidemiology and biostatistics
  • Public health medicine (physician)
  • Air pollution modeling, monitoring, meteorology or engineering.

One member could have more than one field of expertise (e.g., toxicology and risk assessment) or more than one member could be in the same general field, but possess different specialties (e.g., air pollution engineering and air pollution modeling). Members serve a three-year term, as volunteers without pay.