Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Department of Human Services Search Site

Compass Project: Service Groups

The service group framework uses information collected in a person's Oregon Needs Assessment to place them in a service group of people of a similar age and who have a similar level of need for support services. There are 14 service groups.

More information

To learn more about service groups, you can watch a training or read the fact sheet linked below. To learn about a specific service group, read the handbook for that group.


Infant / Toddler age 0 to 3 support needs

Children age 4 to 11 support needs

Adolescents age 12 to 17 support needs

Adult age 18+​ support needs

Employment and residential fact sheet

This fact sheet is for individuals and families. It explains how service groups affect the rates paid to providers. This only applies to employment and residential services. These range changes occurred July 1, 2022.


For more information about service groups, please contact your case manager.