You are here:
The Health Licensing Office has filed a proposed Oregon Administrative Rule with the Oregon Secretary of State, which has been published in the September 2020, Oregon Bulletin. The rule clarifies the potential consequences of an authorization holder failing to comply with an Executive Order issued by the Governor or failing to comply with state agency guidance during a declared disaster or emergency.
This proposed rule language will replace temporary rule 331-020-0078, that took effect on May 15, 2020.
In an effort to help slow the spread of COVID-19 in Oregon and protect employees and the public, the Health Licensing Office (HLO) will be changing the way it provides services at our location in Salem.
The HLO is now open by appointment only during our normal business hours. Please call (503) 378-8667, to see if we can assist you over the phone. If it is determined you need to come into the office, one of our staff members will schedule you on a date and time that works for you.
You can also seek assistance by emailing our office at:
firstname.lastname@example.org. Many of your questions can be answered by visiting the
HLO website and the
Oregon Health Authority, COVID-19 updates page.
The Oregon Health Authority has finalized specific guidance for personal services during the phase one reopening for Oregon counties. This guidance is required for those licensed under the Health Licensing Office providing personal services.
The Health Licensing Office has filed a temporary Oregon Administrative Rule regarding discounted license fees. The temporary rule is needed for midwifery licensing to continue at a lower cost to allow for the increased demand of families seeking birth at home or in birthing centers during the COVID-19 emergency. This temporary rule language is effective April 1, 2020.
This communication is for those professions overseen by the Health Licensing Office which require First Aid / CPR / Bloodborne Pathogens (or any mix of these as stated in Oregon Administrative Rule) for initial licensure/certification/registration (authorization), or for those needing to obtain recertification to renew your authorization:
During the Governor’s declared state of emergency due to COVID-19, the requirement to be certified to gain your initial authorization or to renew your authorization remains in place, however; the hands-on skill competency assessment by a qualified instructor can be waived and you are allowed to take all required courses online. If available, courses can still be taken in person if you are able to be in compliance with the Governor’s executive orders when doing so.
If you need to obtain your First Aid / CPR / Bloodborne Pathogens certification (or any mix of these), or get recertified, please refer to our approved provider list to inquire if these organizations are able to provide you with an online course or a remote-in option with an instructor.
The 2013 Legislature passed HB 2997 making licensing mandatory for individuals practicing midwifery unless they were exempt. At that time the initial license costs were $1200 with a $1200 discount for applicants who met all licensing requirements and had never held a prior license. In 2013 fees for applicants renewing a license were $1200 annually. Documentation specifically related to fees was provided by the Legislative Fiscal Office (LFO) regarding HB 2997.
Subscribe to receive email notification of Board updates
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how