Residential Care Facility Administrators are
responsible for planning, organizing and managing the operation of a
residential care facility. While mandatory licensure does not begin
until January 1, 2022, Residential Care Facility Administrators who were
currently practicing as of May 15, 2019, had until July 1, 2019, to
apply for a permanent or provisional license through the Health Licensing Office. The window to apply for currently practicing Residential Care Facility Administrators is now closed. Please see below for those applying after July 1, 2019.
House Bill 4129 (2018)
For licensing qualification questions, please contact our Qualifications Specialist, Derek Fultz, at email@example.com or (503) 934-5009. For rule or policy related questions, please contact our Policy Analyst, Anne Thompson, at firstname.lastname@example.org or (503) 373-1904.
Those Who Applied By July 1, 2019
This information is for those currently practicing Residential Care Facility Administrators who applied for a permanent or provisional license through the Health Licensing Office (HLO) by the July 1, 2019 deadline. If you did not submit all of the required supporting documentation at the time you submitted your application, please be sure to submit the following to the HLO so that your application can be processed:
- Two forms of original identification issued by a government agency, both of which must include the applicant's current legal name. Front and back of legible (clear) photocopies if submitted by mail. At least one form of identification provided to the HLO must be photographic. Acceptable identification options can be found under Chapter 331, Division 30 of Oregon Administrative Rule.
- Proof of being at least 21 years of age and provide official documentation confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver's license, passport or school/military/governmental record with age documented (if not already provided on photographic identification required above).
- Proof of having a high school diploma or equivalent. If the name on your high school diploma (or equivalent) does not match your current legal name, you must provide documentation to show how it has changed (i.e. marriage, legal name changes(s), etc.). If you attended a school outside the U.S., you must have your education evaluated for equivalency. Please contact the HLO for assistance or clarification of the process.
- Pass a HLO fitness-for-employment criminal records check. If you previously passed a Department of Human Services (DHS) background check, it will be sufficient for this requirement.
Those Applying After July 1, 2019
As a reminder, mandatory licensure of Residential Care Facility Administrators does not begin until January 1, 2022. If you did not apply by the July 1, 2019, deadline for currently practicing administrators, you will need to apply and take a state-prepared Oregon Laws and Rules examination given by the Health Licensing Office. This examination will now be available at the Office beginning January 2, 2020. For more information, see the "Examinations" header below.
You may choose to apply for permanent licensure prior to the Oregon Laws and Rules examination being administered however; your application will be placed in "pending status" until the examination is finalized and available for you to come in and test.
If you apply, please submit your application along with the $100 application fee. Once the exam is available, applicants with applications in pending status will be notified that they can now come in and test. The cost of the examination is $125, and those who pass will then pay a licensing fee of $130 to obtain their permanent license.
The Board-approved examination for a Residential Care Facility Administrator license is the state-prepared Oregon Laws and Rules examination given by the Health Licensing Office. This examination will be available at the Health Licensing Office beginning January 2, 2020.
Oregon Laws and Rules Examination
exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions and requires a minimum passing score of 75 percent. There is a 90-minute time limit.
The exam covers information contained within the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and is summarized in the Laws and Rules Examination Information Bulletin below. The statutes and rules listed are solely for the purpose of preparing for the state-prepared exam and are not inclusive of all statutes and rules for Residential Care Facility Administrators and Residential Care Facilities:
State-prepared examination retake requirements
To provide a standardized process for all regulated professions when applicants for licensure fail state-prepared written qualifying examinations for licensure, the Health Licensing Office has established the following requirements:
- After first failed attempt, applicant may not retake until the office's next business day
- After second failed attempt, applicant may not retake until the office's next business day
- After third failed attempt, applicant may not retake until the office's next business day
- After fourth failed attempt, applicant may not retake for seven calendar days
- After fifth failed attempt, applicant may not retake for seven calendar days
- After sixth failed attempt, applicant may not retake for seven calendar days
- After seventh failed attempt, ability to retake, requirements for retake, or both, will be determined by the office or appropriate board or council on a case-by-case basis