Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Promoting Interoperability (Meaningful Use): Syndromic Surveillance Measure

NOTE: Meaningful Use EHR Incentive Programs are now called Promoting Interoperability (PI) Programs.

Syndromic Surveillance Measure

Final rules for Stages 1, 2 and 3 have been released.

Syndromic surveillance is one of several public health interoperability measures in Oregon (for links to other public health measures, see Promoting Interoperability in Public Health).

Read below to learn if we are ready to accept syndromic data from your hospital or practice.

Syndromic Readiness

Please print this webpage and retain for your records.

We are ready to receive data sent by Eligible Hospitals (EHs), Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) and Eligible Providers (EPs) under the following conditions for the stages:

Stage 3
  • For EPs: We are ready to receive syndromic data from EPs practicing in urgent care settings only.
  • For EHs and CAHs: We are ready to receive syndromic data from EHs and CAHs with emergency departments only.

Learn more

For an overview of syndromic surveillance and MU, see the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Meaningful Use website.