Required Lead Screening Tests for Children Enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan
Children enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan must now have a blood lead test at 12 and 24 months, or before 72 months if never tested. For more information, see OAR 410-130-0246 "Lead Screening".
As of 2/23/2022, Magellan Diagnostics has resumed manufacturing and distribution of its LeadCare II test kits. For more information, visit this Magellan Diagnostics Recalls LeadCare II Blood Lead Tests Due to Risk of Falsely Low ResultsFDA website
. Additional information can be found on the manufacturer's recall notice
. The CDC has updated guidance and recommendations in a Health Alert Network update
on October 14, 2021.
Reporting of Blood Lead Test Results
- By law, Oregon laboratories and clinicians must report ALL blood lead test results to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) within seven working days.
- ELEVATED blood lead test results must be reported to OHA within one working day.
For more on the reporting and investigation requirements, see the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-017, 333-018 and 333-019.
Please do not send blood lead test results to OHA through unsecure email. Use ProofPoint to set up a secure OHA email, or use the secure email available through your facility.
Oregon Lead Poisoning Guidelines