Skip to main content Homepage

Board Members, Roles & Terms

The Board is currently accepting applications for a new voting member who is or has been a consumer of mental health services.

The structure of the 16-member Oregon State Hospital Advisory Board was established in 2009 with the passage of Senate Bill 25. This includes two nonvoting members from the Legislative Assembly, and 14 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Current Advisory Board members are listed below.

Two nonvoting members from Legislative Assembly

  • Senator Peter Courtney (appointed by the Senate president)
  • Representative Mitch Greenlick (appointed by the Speaker of the House)

Three voting members who advocate for or provide representation to individuals with mental illness

  • Beckie Child (7/2/12-7/1/2016, extended at the request of the governor)
  • Justin Ottman (9/19/14-6/30/18)
  • Javonnie Shearn (7/1/17-6/30/21)

Three voting members who are health care professionals who have experience working with individuals with mental illness

  • Silas Halloran-Steiner (7/1/15-6/30/19)
  • Iris Sexton (9/19/14-6/30/18)
  • Andre Pruitt (12/19/16-6/30/20)

Two voting members who are or have been consumers of mental illness services, at least one of whom is a former OSH patient

  • Vacant (term ends 6/30/19)
  • Bill Blume (12/19/16-6/30/20)

One voting member who is a family advocate for consumers of mental illness services

  • Kimberly Wrolstad (7/1/15-6/30/19)

Two voting members of the general public who live in the vicinity of OSH

  • Janet Carlson (12/19/16-6/30/20)
  • Andrea Brown (10/1/15-9/30/19)

Three nonvoting members who are members of a public employee bargaining unit and employed at OSH

  • Doug Smith (7/1/15-6/30/19)
  • Robert Stone (7/1/17-6/30/21)
  • Herschel Underwood (12/19/16-6/30/20)

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how