Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Meritorious Service

The Meritorious Service Medal recognizes an individual for a particular act of meritorious service in EMS in Oregon. The awards are presented during the EMS Awards Program at the Annual Oregon EMS Conference.

NOTE: Recipients pictured below with Candace Toyama - OHA EMS Deputy Director and Dr. David Lehrfeld - OHA EMS Medical Director


  • Meritorious Service: Lindsay Telek, EMT - American Medical Response
  • EMR of the Year: Johannah Wren - Banks Fire District 13
  • EMT of the Year: Melissa Zimmer - Metro West Ambulance
  • Advanced EMT of the Year: Zachary Havelind - Banks Fire District 13
  • EMT-Intermediate of the Year: George Lydick - Western Lane EMS
  • Paramedic of the Year: Michelle Preston - Metro West Ambulance
  • EMS Educator of the Year- Gail Marsh Madsen Award: Amber Hossick - Bend Fire & Rescue
  • EMS Administrator of the Year: Steve O'Malley - Bend Fire & Rescue
  • EMS Medical Director of the Year: Bill Reed, MD - Bend Fire & Rescue

Meritorious Service - Lindsay Telek


EMR of the Year - Johannah Wren


EMT of the Year - Melissa Zimmer

Advanced EMT of the Year - Zachary Havelind

EMT- Intermediate of the Year - George Lydick

Paramedic of the Year - Michelle Preston

EMS Educator of the Year Gail Marsh Madsen Award - Amber Hossick

EMS Administrator of the Year - Steve O'


Medical Director of the Year - Bill Reed

Meritorious Service Medal