Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

How to Apply to Become a Commissioner

ORS 342.350 established the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission consisting of 17 members appointed by the Governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. The term of office of a member is three years.


The membership of the Commission consists of:

    a.  Four elementary teachers;

    b.  Four junior or senior high school teachers;

    c.  One elementary school administrator;

    d.  One junior or senior high school administrator;

    e.  One superintendent of city schools;

    f.  One county superintendent or a superintendent employed by an education service district board;

    g.  One member from the faculty of an approved private teacher education institution in Oregon;

    h.  One member from the faculty of a state institution of higher education;

    i.  One member who is also a member of a district school board; and

    j.  Two members of the general public.


The Commission is responsible for:

  • Establishing rules for licensure and issuing licenses to teachers, administrators, school nurses and other education personnel.
  • Maintaining professional standards of competent and ethical performance and proper assignment of licensed educators.
  • Adopting standards for approval of college and university teacher education programs and approving programs which meet such standards.


If you would like to apply, please review the Application Process and Instructions to Apply on the Boards and Commissions page.