Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Mutual Aid Resources

It is recognized that emergencies often overwhelm local and state government capability, transcend boundaries, and that intergovernmental coordination is essential for the protection of lives, property, the environment, and incident stabilization. This cooperation is also essential for the maximum use of available resources. There are several agreements currently in place to assist with this cooperation.
Oregon Resources Coordination Assistance Agreement (ORCAA)
Under the Oregon Resource Coordination Assistance Agreement (ORCAA) member jurisdictions may request assistance from other member jurisdictions to prevent, mitigate, respond to, or recover from an emergency or disaster, or in concert with exercises. Any resource (employees, services, equipment and supplies) of a member jurisdiction may be made available to another member jurisdiction.
Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC)
EMAC is a national interstate mutual aid agreement that enables states to share resources during times of disaster. EMAC provides timely and cost-effective relief to states that request assistance from the member states. The compact acts as a complement to the federal disaster response system.
Pacific Northwest Emergency Management Arrangement (PNEMA)
PNEMA is an arrangement that crosses international borders. The arrangement allows for resources to be shared between the states and provinces in the Pacific Northwest, similar to mutual aid under the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC).