Education and Training
The following documents describe the training requirements for licensure (520 hours of practical training and completion of the International Hearing Society's Distance Learning Program for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences under direct supervision):
The Health Licensing Office and the Advisory Council on Hearing Aids have approved three exams which must be passed in order to obtain licensure as a Hearing Aid Specialist in the State of Oregon. They are:
- The International Hearing Society (IHS) Written International Licensing Examination (ILE);
The state-prepared written laws and rules exam;
- The state-prepared practical exam.
Written International Licensing Examination
The ILE consists of 80 scored and 25 non-scored (pilot) practice-scenario-based, multiple-choice test questions. Pilot (non-scored) questions allow the IHS to collect data on new test questions. Candidates are given two hours to complete the exam.
The exam is separated into 10 competency areas based on knowledge, skills and abilities required of Hearing Aid Specialists for safe and effective practice. Competency areas and recommended reference materials are listed in the IHS study guide. IHS textbooks are available for purchase at
The ILE is offered at authorized testing centers located throughout Oregon. Applicants must obtain authorization from the HLO to proceed with registration through the IHS to sit for the ILE.
Official documentation of ILE results must be sent directly by the IHS to the HLO. Candidates will be notified by the HLO of a pass/fail based on their overall examination performance.
State-prepared Written Laws and Rules Exam
The state-prepared Oregon laws and rules exam consists of 20 multiple-choice questions. The time limit is 30 minutes. Passing the exam requires a score of 70 percent or higher.
HLO is open by appointment only during the COVID-19 emergency. Please email
firstname.lastname@example.org, or call (503) 378-8667, to request a testing appointment. Masks or face shields will be required upon entry to our building.
HLO office hours to begin testing are Monday 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Tuesday 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and Wednesday through Friday 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
The state-prepared examination covers regulations for Hearing Aid Specialists listed within the Advisory Council on Hearing Aids Oregon Administrative Rules. Chapter 331, Division 601 is solely for the purpose of preparing for the exam and is not inclusive of all the regulations governing Hearing Aid Specialists in Oregon. The
Administrative rules are posted online.
State-prepared Practical Exam
The state-prepared practical examination is used to determine the qualification, fitness and ability of an applicant to practice as a hearing aid specialist.
The practical exam is given by appointment only. The exam application and all application requirements must be received at the HLO 30 days prior to the scheduled practical exam date.
Time allotted for each section is as follows:
The practical examination consists of four sections with one section containing three segments: Audiometric Posting, Testing and Masking (P1A, P1B and P1C) section; Earmold Impressions (P2) section; Hearing Aid Fitting and Selection (P3) section; and the Hearing Aid Verification (P4) section.
Time allotted for each section of the practical is as follows:
P1A - Audiogram Posting: 15 minutes
P1B - Audiometric Testing: 50 minutes
PIC - Masking: 40 minutes
P2 - Earmold Testing: 20 minutes
P3 - Hearing Aid Fitting and Selection: 20 minutes
P4 - Hearing Aid Verification: 15 minutes
Practical Exam Schedule
|Examination Date||Application Deadline|
|January 8, 2024||December 6, 2023|
|April 8, 2024||March 6, 2024|
|July 8, 2024||June 5, 2024|
|October 7, 2024||September 4, 2024|
Practical Examination Location:
All examinations will be held at the Health Licensing Office:
1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301
State-prepared Laws and Rules Exam Retakes