Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board - Respiratory Therapist - Licensing Information

Education

Applicants for licensure as respiratory therapists must have completed a respiratory care education program approved by the American Medical Association in collaboration with the Joint Review Committee for Respiratory Therapy Education or their successors or equivalent organizations, as approved by the Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board.

Application requirements

  • Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.
  • Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Health Licensing Office and accompanied by payment of the required application and license fees.
  • Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check.
  • Be at least 18 years of age and provide official documentation confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver's license, passport or school/military/government identification.
  • Submit proof of having a high school diploma or the equivalent.
  • Submit satisfactory evidence of having an active credential through the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) as a Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT). ***Please note: Proof of having an active credential must be submitted directly to the Health Licensing Office from the NBRC. In addition, the applicant is responsible for payment of any fees assessed by any organization when obtaining required official documentation.
  • Pass the Board approved Respiratory Therapist Oregon Laws and Administrative Rules examination within two years before the date of application. 

Oregon Laws & Rules Exam

As of November 15, 2019, examination candidates wanting to obtain permanent licensure as a Respiratory Therapist are no longer required to appear at the Health Licensing Office to take the Oregon Laws and Rules examination. The new Respiratory Therapist Oregon Laws and Rules examination is administered through iLearn, an online examination portal which can be accessed through the internet.

The following information will provide the necessary details about the examination:

Temporary licensure

A respiratory therapist temporary license authorizes a holder to practice respiratory care under supervision and pending passage of the qualifying examination.

  • Supervision means the required presence of a licensed respiratory therapist or qualified Medical Director for respiratory care within the work location at the same time as the temporary licensee.
  • A respiratory therapist temporary license holder must notify the Health Licensing Office within 10 calendar days of changes in employment status or supervisor.
  • A respiratory therapy temporary license is valid for six months and may not be renewed.

Temporary licensure applicants must:

  • Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.
  • Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Health Licensing Office and accompanied by payment of the required application and license fees.
  • Submit fingerprint-based national criminal background check.
  • Be at least 18 years of age and provide official documentation confirming date of birth, such as a copy of the birth certificate, driver's license, passport or school/military/government identification.
  • Submit a statement, signed by the Registrar or a Dean of a college or university. ***Please note: Signed statement must be submitted directly to the  Health Licensing Office from the college or university, verifying the applicant has completed all work necessary to obtain a degree in respiratory care. In addition, the applicant is responsible for payment of any fees assessed by any organization when obtaining required official documentation.
  • Submit documentation identifying approved supervisor on a form prescribed by the Health Licensing Office.

Forms

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×