Skip to the main content of the page

Seed Regulatory Program

​​​The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) is responsible for regulating the sale and labeling of agricultural and vegetable seed sold, offered for sale, or transported within Oregon. The program also examines the records of wholesale seed companies to ensure compliance with Oregon and federal seed laws. 

The program additionally provides for sampling and testing of seed sold at the retail level to ensure compliance with Oregon's seed law. Tests are conducted to check for proper germination, weed seed content, and other factors important to Oregon consumers. 

Retail seed dealer license

  • A retail seed dealer license is required for any person who offers or sells agricultural or vegetable seed directly to the consumer or user
  • Fee: $40​.00
  • Retail seed dealer license details​

​Wholesale seed dealer license

  • A wholesale seed dealer license is required for any person who sells, offers, or holds for sale, agricultural or vegetable seed to the following:
    • Retailers
    • Distributors
    • Brokers
    • Other wholesalers for resale
  • Fee: $750​​​​.00
  • Wholesale seed dealer license details​


Retail seed dealer license application

Retail seed dealer application form

Wholesale seed dealer license application

Wholesale seed dealer application form



Elizabeth Savory
Program Manager
635 Capitol St NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-986-4570
Teresa Nicholson
635 Capitol Street NE
635 Capitol Street NE
Phone: 503-871-7747