Skip to main content

Oregon Transportation Commission Members

Commission Chair Bob Van Brocklin

Commissioner Bob Van BrocklinRobert Van Brocklin is a partner in the law firm of Stoel Rives LLP, where he works from the firm's Portland office. He is the immediate past Firm Managing Partner and CEO of Stoel Rives. Van Brocklin’s legal practice has focused on energy, land use, and infrastructure development, including on complex project siting and administrative law and policy matters. Van Brocklin currently serves on the boards of the Portland Business Alliance, All Hands Raised, and the University of Oregon Law School Advisory Committee. He has also served on the boards of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, the Portland Schools Foundation, Portland Center Stage, and the Oregon Symphony Association, among others. Bob was born in Montana and raised in Oregon and is married to Sue Van Brocklin.
Prior to joining Stoel Rives, Van Bocklin served on the professional staff of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation in Washington, D.C., and as Director of Government Affairs for the City of Portland, Oregon.
Commission Term 
11/17/2017 to 6/30/2021, 7/1/2021 to 6/30/2025

Commission Vice Chair Alando Simpson

Commissioner Alando SimposonAlando Simpson is vice president and owner/CEO of City of Roses Disposal & Recycling in Portland. He graduated from Portland State University with a degree in communications and has served as a board member for the National Association of Minority Contractors of Oregon and the Oregon Sustainability Board. Simpson is a certified LEED Green Associate, and is involved in supporting Oregon small businesses. He is on the board of the City of Portland Small Business Advisory Council. Simpson is also involved with youth sports, and currently serves as chair of the Oregon Sports Authority Advisory Council. He resides in Portland.
Commission Term 
7/1/2014 to 6/30/2018, 7/1/2018 to 6/30/2022


Commissioner Julie Brown

Commissioner JulieB Brown
Julie Brown has served as the general manager for the Rogue Valley Transportation District for 13 years, part of 24 years of experience in the transportation world. Brown served as the president of the Oregon Transit Association and has served on a number of ODOT committees, including the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee and chair of the Public Transportation Advisory Committee.
Commission Term
 9/28/2018 to 6/30/2020, 7/1/2020 to 6/30/2024


Commissioner Sharon Smith

Commissioner Sharon Smith

In 2017, Sharon Smith became a General Counsel for the Bend-La Pine School District. For 26 years, she enjoyed a robust practice with Bryant, Lovlien & Jarvis, with a focus on real estate, land use, and development. The school district was one of Sharon’s clients, and she found she was ready for a move at the same time it made sense for the District to bring someone in-house.

In some ways, Sharon’s current work takes her back to her roots. She grew up in a family of educators in Eugene, Oregon. Her mother, Hazel Smith, taught math at Lane Community College, and her father, Norman Smith was a marketing professor in the University of Oregon College of Business.

Sharon’s deep background in land use and contracting policy has been a great match for a rapidly growing school district. Since 1991, Sharon has assisted the Bend La-Pine District in building 17 new schools, renovating older schools and adjusting to Bend’s growing population, which has almost quadrupled in the last 30 years. She deeply appreciates that she works with so many smart and dedicated people who are doing everything they can to create the best learning environment for our future leaders.

She has also volunteered for many public improvement efforts. She has served on numerous boards addressing local development issues as well as non-profit boards helping children and families. She also co-founded the Safe School Alliance, which formed 20 years ago to improve school safety after the deadly shooting at Thurston High School.

Sharon has extensive experience in working with transportation system plans, transportation engineers, and planners.  This skill set, along with her extensive work with both private and public entities brings a valuable perspective to the Oregon Transportation Commission.  

Commission Term
9/1/2019 to 6/30/2023

Commissioner Marcilynn Burke

Dean Marcilynn A. Burke studies leadership, property, environmental and natural resources law. At Oregon Law, she serves as the Dean and DaveM2022-011_C027600_Marcilynn_Burke.jpg Frohnmayer Chair in Leadership and Law. Her scholarly works have included features in the Notre Dame Law Review, the Land Use and Environmental Law Review, the University of Cincinnati Law Review, and the Duke Environmental Law & Policy Forum. 

From 2009-2013, Dean Burke served in the U.S. Department of the Interior's Bureau of Land Management (BLM). Initially she served as Deputy Director for Programs and Policy in the BLM, and then as the Acting Assistant Secretary for the U.S. Department of the Interior over the BLM following a 2011 appointment by President Barack Obama. In that role, she helped develop the land use, resource management, and regulatory oversight policies that are administered by the BLM, the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, and the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, with a geographic scope that encompassed the continental U.S. and Alaska. Following her term at the BLM, she resumed her role as associate dean and associate professor of law at the University of Houston Law Center, where she had served as a member of the faculty since 2002.

Dean Burke earned her bachelor's degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, having been named to Phi Beta Kappa. She then earned her law degree from Yale Law School, where she was an editor for both the Yale Journal of Law and Feminism and the Yale Journal of International Law. She clerked for the Honorable Raymond A. Jackson of the Eastern District of Virginia, and later joined the law firm of Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton where her practice focused on environmental law, antitrust, and civil and criminal litigation. Dean Burke had also served as a visiting professor of law at Rutgers School of Law in Camden, NJ in 2001.

Commission Term
11/18/2021 - 6/30/2024

Contact a Commissioner

Written comments for the commission can be submitted to support staff at: