Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Continuous Improvement Advisory Committee Membership

Sharon Smith ~ CIAC Chair

Sharon Smith serves as a commissioner on the Oregon Transportation Commission and is the CIAC Chair. Sharon is an attorney providing legal services for Bend-La Pine Schools on a contract with the High Desert Educational Service District. She advises Bend-La Pine Schools regarding land use, real estate, procurement, contracting, policies, public records and meetings laws and general education law. She is the lead attorney on all aspects of Bend-La Pine Schools’ 2017 $268,000,000 Bond for new schools, safety and other upgrades. 

Prior to joining the High Desert ESD, Sharon was a shareholder at Bryant, Lovlien& Jarvis, PC. In private practice from 1991 to 2017, she represented both private development interests as well as public entities. 


Sharon has extensive experience working with transportation system plans, transportation engineers and planners.

Carolyn Sullivan ~ ODOT Executive Sponsor 

Carolyn Sullivan is ODOT's Chief Administrative Officer and is responsible for the Human Resources, Information Services, Data Solutions, Office of Employee Safety, Facilities and Procurement functions. Carolyn has nearly 30 years of experience managing these core functions as well as extensive strategic leadership experience gained in a wide variety of industries. Prior to joining ODOT, Carolyn was the Chief Operating Officer for a multi-national transportation consulting firm headquartered in Portland, Oregon. Carolyn holds a bachelor's degree in Accounting from the University of San Francisco. 

Ted Aadland ~ External Representative

With over 40 years of experience in the construction sector, Ted Aadland is currently working as a consultant, mentoring businesses and individuals. A former president of the Associated General Contractors of America, he co-founded F. E. Ward, Inc. in 1979, created the partnership Aadland Evans Constructors, Inc. in 2003, and oversaw the construction of the Sellwood Bridge for Sundt Construction between 2012 and 2017.


Ted was recently the chairman of the National AGC Political Action Committee, a member of the Ways and Means Committee, the Legislative Committee, the Highway Committee, and the Past Presidents Leadership Committee.

Paula Hammond ~ External Representative

Paula Hammond is a native of Klamath Falls and a graduate of Oregon State University where she earned a degree in civil engineering. She worked for the Washington State Department of Transportation for 34 years, including five years as WSDOT secretary of transportation. She now works with transportation agencies across the nation in her role with engineering firm WSP.


Paula is a nationally recognized figure on transportation issues, having served as an advisory committee member for the United States Department of Transportation’s Intelligent Transportation Systems Program and as a leader of numerous American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials committees.

Amber Ontiveros ~ External Representative

Amber Ontiveros is president of Ontiveros & Associates, LLC., a woman and Latin-owned disadvantaged business enterprise headquartered in Portland, Oregon. Amber's training and experience spans two decades working with public agencies to improve policy in the areas of minority contracting, workforce development, strategic communications, quantitative analysis, and coalition building. Amber has worked on all sides in the transportation industry, from lobbying to working in transportation agencies, and federal regulator. She brings expertise in change management, policy development, equity, outreach, and effective strategies for implementation. She is considered a national expert in Title VI, Title VII, and DBE regulations having worked for the Obama Administration to rewrite these laws while at the United States Department of Transportation. 

Shanna Brownstein ~ External Representative

Shanna Brownstein works for TESLA on climate, resiliency, and transportation electrification partnerships. She previously worked at NW Natural in government and community affairs, focused on local and regional utility issues and environmental policies. Prior to joining NW Natural, she directed policy and government affairs at The Climate Trust.

Shanna is the Board Chairwoman of the NW Energy Coalition and a founding board member of the Renewable Hydrogen Alliance. She holds a Master's degree from Columbia University and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Colby College.

Mac Lynde ~ ODOT Administrator

McGregor “Mac" Lynde currently serves as the Interim Administrator for the Delivery & Operations Division at the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT).  The division is responsible for the planning, design, construction, improvement, maintenance and operation of Oregon's transportation system.  There are approximately 2,700 employees in the division with a biennial budget of $2.5 billion.  Following the devastating 2020 Labor Day Wildfires, Mr. Lynde also represented ODOT on the Debris Management Task Force and led the emergency recovery operation to cleanup destroyed homes and businesses, and remove thousands of hazard trees along state highways, homesites and other public areas.  Mr. Lynde started with ODOT in 2001 and has worked in various roles within Research, Project Delivery, Financial Management and Active Transportation.  

Amanda Pietz ~ ODOT Administrator

Amanda Pietz is the Administrator over the Oregon Department of Transportation Policy, Data, and Analysis Division. The Division oversees the work of the Policy, Planning, Research, Data, and the Climate Office. Amanda was the inaugural Climate Office Director, establishing a new program and setting the strategic climate direction for the agency. She has been with ODOT for nearly 15 years, setting multimodal policy and investment direction. Amanda was the recipient of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Presidents Award for Planning, and chairs the AASHTO subcommittee on Air Quality, Climate Change and Energy.

Prior to ODOT, Amanda was an Archaeologist specializing in relationships with northwest tribes, prehistoric sites, Victorian-era accoutrements, and Easter Island archaeology. 

Contact Us

CIAC Assistance Sabrina Foward

CIAC Facilitator Victoria Hawley

Sign up to receive email alerts about this topic.

Key Documents

Related Links

Keep Oregon Moving

Oregon Transportation Commission

Key Performance Measures