An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
The Oregon Heatlh Authority (OHA) is working with partners to build out the strategic pathways in Oregon's suicide prevention framework. Learn more about priority work planned for 2023.
This work advances the Youth Suicide Intervention and Prevention Plan (YSIPP), which OHA updates every five years.
Starting in 2014, and with additional investment in 2019, the Oregon Legislature commissioned the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to:
For a brief history and summary of suicide prevention laws in Oregon, please visit the Oregon Alliance to Prevent Suicide’s legislative summary page.
In 2019, the rate of youth suicide in Oregon decreased from the prior year for the first time since 2015. Oregon is now experiencing its first three-year decrease in youth suicide fatalities since 2001.
To learn more about Oregon's progress meeting the goals of the YSIPP, read OHA's Youth Suicide Annual Reports:
Senate Bill 561 (2015) requires Local Mental Health Authorities (LMHAs) as defined in ORS 430.630 to do the following when suicides occur in youth (age 24 years or younger):
A competent and confident behavioral and physical health care workforce can ensure:
60 to 70 percent of individuals who die by suicide see a medical or behavioral health care professional in the year before death.
Senate Bill 48 (2017) was designed to support the behavioral and physical healthcare workforce. It does this by promoting continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management.
OHA has compiled a list of continuing education courses for consideration.
SB 48 requires providers licensed by the following agencies to report any suicide assessment, treatment and management continuing education they’ve taken.
The Oregon Medical Board and the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission survey their providers. OHA surveys providers licensed by other boards at re-licensure as part of the Health Care Workforce Reporting program. OHA compiles and reports this information to the Oregon legislature each even-numbered year.
Starting July 1, 2022, House Bill 2315 (2021) requires providers in the behavioral healthcare workforce to complete continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management for relicensure. Oregon Administrative Rules and an implementation plan are currently under development.
HB 2315 requires 2 hours every two years or 3 hours every three years of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management for the following license categories:
Jill Baker Youth Suicide Prevention Policy Coordinator503-339-6264
Shanda HochstetlerYouth Suicide Prevention Program Coordinator
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how