Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon.gov Homepage

Youth Suicide Prevention

Overview

In 2021, Oregon made significant progress in 2021 in youth suicide prevention. This progress included:

  • Developing a suicide prevention framework,
  • Publishing an updated five year plan for youth suicide prevention, and
  • Starting the work outlined in the YSIPP 21–22 initiatives.

Preliminary data in Oregon indicate the following:

  • For youth age 17 and under, suicide numbers decreased in 2021 compared to 2020.
  • For youth age 18–24, suicide numbers in 2021 were similar to 2020.
  • Suicide numbers decreased overall for youth age 24 and under in 2021 compared to 2020.

This is the first time since 2001 that Oregon has had a three-year decrease in youth suicide fatalities (24 and under). While this is positive news, it is important to note that some counties in Oregon did not see this overall decrease in youth suicide in 2021 and Oregon remains above the national average for youth suicide rates. 

This good news is also wrapped in the context of big challenges for so many in Oregon. There is so much more to do to create safety for our children and young people. The suicide prevention team at OHA and our partners across the state will remain earnestly focused on this work.

Starting in 2014, and with additional investment in 2019, the Oregon Legislature commissioned the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to:​

For a brief history and summary of suicide prevention laws in Oregon, please visit the Oregon Alliance to Prevent Suicide’s legislative summary page.​


​In 2019, the rate of youth suicide in Oregon decreased from the prior year for the first time since 2015. Oregon is now experiencing its first three-year decrease in youth suicide fatalities since 2001. 

To learn more about Oregon's progress meeting the goals of the YSIPP, read OHA's Youth Suicide Annual Reports:

Senate Bill 561 (2015) requires Local Mental Health Authorities (LMHAs) as defined in ORS 430.630 to do the following when suicides occur in youth (age 24 years or younger):

  • Work with partners to develop plans for information-sharing and response;
  • Prepare communities to respond in a way that reduces the risk of more suicide (contagion) among friends, loved ones or peers left behind after the death; and 
  • Report deaths to OHA within 7 days of death. OHA can  then provide technical assistance on best practices in responding to suicides and reducing contagion risks.

Resources

​A competent and confident behavioral and physical health care workforce can ensure:

  • Early identification of suicide risk and 
  • Use of evidence-informed strategies to address the needs of suicidal individuals. 

60 to 70 percent of individuals who die by suicide see a medical or behavioral health care professional in the year before death.

Senate Bill 48 (2017) was designed to support the behavioral and physical healthcare workforce. It does this by promoting continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management.

OHA has compiled a list of continuing education courses for consideration. 

  • OHA does not endorse or approve these courses.
  • Licensees should contact their licensing boards (listed below) to determine if a class meets their board’s criteria for approved continuing education credits.

Reporting​ requirements

SB 48 requires providers licensed by the following agencies to report any suicide assessment, treatment and management continuing education they’ve taken.

The Oregon Medical Board and the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission survey their providers. OHA surveys providers licensed by other boards at re-licensure as part of the Health Care Workforce Reporting program. OHA compiles and reports this information to the Oregon legislature each even-numbered year.

Continuing educati​on requirements effective July 1, 2022

Starting July 1, 2022, House Bill 2315 (2021) requires providers in the behavioral healthcare workforce to complete continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management for relicensure.  Oregon Administrative Rules and an implementation plan are currently under development.​

HB 2315 requires 2 hours every two years or 3 hours every three years of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment and management for the following license categories:

  • A clinical social worker, as defined in ORS 675.510;
  • A regulated social worker, as defined in ORS 675.510;
  • A licensed marriage and family therapist, as defined in ORS 675.705;
  • A licensed psychologist, as defined in ORS 675.010;
  • A licensed professional counselor, as defined in ORS 675.705;
  • A school counselor, as defined by rule by the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission;
  • A qualified mental health associate;
  • A qualified mental health professional;
  • A certified alcohol and drug counselor;
  • A prevention specialist;
  • A problem gambling treatment provider;
  • A recovery mentor;
  • A community health worker;
  • A personal health navigator;
  • A personal support specialist;
  • A peer wellness specialist;
  • A doula;
  • A family support specialist;
  • A youth support specialist; and
  • A peer support specialist.

Links

  
Emergency Department Discharge Practices Report
If you go to the emergency room - Advocating for your loved one during a crisis (English)
If you go to the emergency room - Advocating for your loved one during a crisis (Spanish)
OAR 309-027 Youth Suicide Communication and Post Intervention Plan
SB 48 (2017) Biennial Report - Youth Suicide Prevention Workforce Development
Statewide Youth Suicide Prevention Programs (Spanish)
Statewide Youth Suicide Prevention Programs (English)
Suicide Prevention Resource Center - Schools
Youth Suicide Intervention and Prevention Plan 2021 Annual Report
Youth Suicide Prevention Program

Resources

  
SB 48 Continuing Education Courses (2022)
Youth Suicide Reporting Form

Contact

Page Info

​Jill Baker
Youth Suicide Prevention Policy Coordinator
503-339-6264

she/her/hers

Shanda Hochstetler
Youth Suicide Prevention Program Coordinator​

503-890-3575

she/her/hers