Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Highway Division Rulemaking Actions

Proposed Highway Division Rules

These proposed rule changes are open for public comment. Please send your written comments to the ODOT Rules Coordinator.

There are no proposed Highway Division rules for public comment at this time.

Back to Top

Recently Closed Highway Division Rules

These proposals are no longer open for public comment. The Oregon Transportation Commission will consider approval of these rule changes at its next meeting.

There are no recently closed Highway Division rules at this time.

Back to Top

Recently Adopted Highway Division Rules

These rule changes were adopted approximately within the last six months.

Speed Limits on Interstate Highways

This amendment allows small changes to the locations of boundaries of current designated speeds (i.e. 55 mph and 60 mph sections) and streamlines the process for establishing new designations of speeds up to one mile in length to improve safety.

Final Rule Text          Filing Certificate

Rule amended: 734-020-0010
Filed and effective: February 21, 2014

Highway Approach Permitting, Access Control and Access Management Standards (temporary rules)

These temporary rules will implement those parts of the SB 408 that specifically require the department to establish rules for implementation and to ensure that ODOT is in compliance with the new laws beginning January 1. The rules will also provide clarification for ODOT staff and the public about implementation of the new laws.

Temp Rules Text          Filing Documents

Temp rules adopted: 734-051-8010, 734-051-8015, 734-051-8020, 734-051-8025, 734-051-8030 Date filed: December 23, 2013
Effective date: January 1, 2014

Adds Fallen Heroes to Roadside Memorial Sign Program

HB 2708 and HB 3494 enacted by the 2013 legislature direct the Department to install signs for certain individuals killed in action or who died as a result of wounds received in action while serving in the Armed Forces of the United States. The OAR was amended to make this addition to the program.

Final Rule Text          Filing Certifcate

Rules amended: 734-026-0010, 734-026-0020, 734-026-0030
Filed and effective: November 25, 2013

Repeal of Utility Facility Permit Fee Rule

In 2006 the Oregon Supreme Court affirmed the judgment of the Clackamas County Circuit Court that ODOT had no statutory authority to charge a utility permit fee because the cost to ODOT to issue and administer the permit to relocate utility facilities could legally be paid from Highway Trust Funds.  In response to the court judgment, Oregon Laws 2001, Chapter 664, Section 2 was repealed by the 2006 Oregon Legislature.  The Department discontinued assessing the utility facility permit fee at that time and has now repealed the rule.

Filing Certificate

Rule repealed: 734-055-0017
Filed and effective: November 25, 2013

Back to Top

Published Highway Division Rules

This link will take you to the Highway Division rules page on the Secretary of State's website.
Back to Top

Sign up for E-mail Alerts

Stay up to date automatically. Click here to receive email notification when new rulemaking information is posted to this page or to modify your existing subscription.
Back to Top