AQ Programs

Zero Emission Vehicle Rebate Program  

Beginning January 1, 2018, electric vehicle purchases made in Oregon are eligible to submit an initial Phase I application for a rebate under the Oregon DEQ EV Rebate and Charge Ahead Rebate program. DEQ will require submission of a Phase 2 application at a later date, once funding is available. Funding for the program is not expected to be available until later in 2018.   
Have questions about the rebate program or application process?  Go to our Frequently Asked Questions document. 


On August 18, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed HB 2017 which, among many other transportation investments, establishes a program to provide rebates to Oregonians who purchase certain types of electric vehicles (including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles) and other qualifying zero-emissions vehicles (ZEVs). This program was designed by the Oregon legislature to encourage higher adoption of ZEVs, reducing air pollution and advancing progress toward the state’s greenhouse gas reduction goals.
The provisions of HB 2017 establishing this program became effective on October 6, 2017. However, under the legislation, rebates can’t be made until there are sufficient funds available from the new privilege tax introduced by the legislation to fund this ZEV rebate program. While the state will begin collecting funds on January 1, 2018, the amount of funds collected will not be sufficient to start granting rebates until the summer of 2018.
In May 2018, the Electric Vehicle Rebate rules were adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission (DEQ's policy commission). Key program elements include:
  • Standard rebates of $1500 or $2500 towards the purchase or lease of a new plug-in hybrid or battery electric vehicle (rebate amount depends upon the battery capacity)
  • Charge Ahead rebates of $2500 for the purchase or lease of any new or used battery electric vehicle. Only low and moderate income households may qualify for the Charge Ahead rebates
  • Eligible vehicles must have a base MSRP of less than $50,000
To learn more about program requirements or additional information:

green envelope To receive notice when additional information is available on this rebate program, sign up the ZEV GovDelivery list.



For more information, email Rachel Sakata