The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is the lead regulatory agency for implementing the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act in Oregon. RCRA regulates the generation, transportation, treatment, storage and disposal of hazardous waste. It also provides a framework for the management of non-hazardous solid waste.
Hazardous waste permits, officially known as RCRA Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility Permits, are complex and stringent. They are usually issued to facilities specializing in commercial hazardous waste management services. In Oregon, a facility must apply for a hazardous waste permit if:
- A facility plans to store, treat, or dispose of hazardous wastes on-site.
- A facility storing, treating, or disposing waste cannot "clean close", which means removing all waste and decontaminating or removing all equipment, structures and surrounding soils.
- A Small Quantity Generator accumulates more than 13,200 pounds of hazardous waste on-site, or stores waste for more than 180 days.
- A Large Quantity Generator stores waste on-site for more than 90 days.
Permits are issued under the authority of the Federal RCRA 40 CFR Parts 124, 260-266, 268, and 270 and OAR 340-100 through OAR 340-108, and OAR 340-120.
For more information, see the Procedure and Criteria for Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage or Disposal Permits fact sheet.
Commercially Operating Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facilities in Oregon
Hazardous Waste Corrective Actions Sites in Oregon