The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is the lead regulatory agency for implementing the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) in Oregon. RCRA Treatment Storage, and Disposal Facility (TSDF) Permits are complex and stringent. They are usually issued to facilities specializing in commercial hazardous waste management services. In Oregon, a facility must apply for a Hazardous Waste Permit if:
- A facility plans to store, treat, or dispose of hazardous wastes on-site.
- A facility storing, treating, or disposing waste cannot "clean close."
- A Small Quantity Generator (SQG) accumulates more than 13,200 pounds of hazardous waste on-site, or stores waste for more than 180 days.
- A Large Quantity Generator (LQG) stores waste on-site for more than 90 days.
Permits are issued under the authority of the Federal RCRA 40 CFR Parts 124, 260-266, 268, and 270 and OAR 340-100 through OAR 340-108, and OAR 340-120.
For more information, please see our Procedure and Criteria for HW Treatment, Storage or Disposal Permits fact sheet.
How to use this site
Click on the site name for more information.