The Forensic Evaluator Certification Program (FCP) provides training, certifies qualified applicants, and maintains a list of certified forensic evaluators for statewide use.
View the current list of certified forensic evaluators
FCP Rule Changes
The FCP Program has revised
Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 309-090-0025 (Content of Written Evaluations Assessing Competency and Criminal Responsibility) to add information about progress notes and supervision programs.
- Section (1): Separated each criteria into its own sub-section; updated DSM to newest version, the DSM-5-TR.
- Section (5): Added language from Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 161.309(5)(c): “A certified evaluator performing an evaluation of a defendant on the issue of insanity pursuant to ORS 161.309 is not obligated to evaluate the defendant for fitness to proceed unless, during the evaluation, the certified evaluator determines that the defendant’s fitness to proceed is drawn in question.”
- Section (6): Established requirements for competency progress reports completed pursuant to ORS 161.371(2).
View the FCP OARs (309-090) in their entirety
Mink-Bowman Order by U.S. District Judge Michael Mosman
Aug. 29, 2022, U.S. District Judge Michael Mosman ruled Oregon State Hospital (OSH) should make changes to the patient discharge process. These changes affect the amount of time allowed for people under ORS 161.370, or “Aid and Assist” orders to remain at the hospital to receive competence restoration. The new restoration limits are:
- For patients whose most serious charge is a misdemeanor, the maximum duration of commitment for restoration is the lesser of the maximum permissible sentence for the underlying offense or 90 days.
- For patients whose most serious charge is a felony, the maximum duration of commitment for restoration is 6 months, unless the felony meets the definition of a “violent felony” under ORS 137.700(2) in which case the maximum duration of commitment for restoration shall be one year.
Learn more on the OSH Legal Affairs website