Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon.gov Homepage

Changing a Birth Record to Support Gender Identity


In-person customer assistance to change vital records is not available.



 Estimated amendment order processing times are currently averaging (4-6) months. 

  • If you submitted a request and processing fee, the date your check or money order is cashed represents the verification of receipt. It also helps you estimate the time remaining before your request is processed. 
  • Requests are reviewed and processed in the order they were received. If there are any issues with your request, you will be contacted at that time.
 We are working diligently to reduce the turnaround times. If your request has not been processed after  (4) months, please contact CHS.Amendments@oha.oregon.gov or call (971) 673-1147.
 We appreciate your patience, thank you.
 (updated 11/2022)


Name and Sex Designation Changes on a Birth Certificate (HB 2673)

People who were born in Oregon and need to change their name and/or sex on their birth certificate to reflect their gender identity may do so by completing a notarized application rather than having to get a court order.


Oregon Administrative Process to Change the Name and/or Sex on a Record of Live Birth to Support Gender Identity

Helpful Definitions:

Applicant:
The eligible person submitting the application to change the registrants birth record.

Registrant:
The person whose birth record is being updated for gender identity purposes.

Birth Record/Birth Certificate:
The birth record is the information of live birth that is registered with the state. The birth certificate is the printed version of the birth record.

Attestation:
A formal declaration or witness to a fact. The application includes an attestation for changing name and/or sex and must be signed with a Notary Public present.


Helpful Links:

  Video of Step-by-Step Instructions on how to complete and submit the Application to Change the Name and/or Sex on a Record of Live Birth to Support Gender Identity.







 
 

Who Can Make the Request? (Applicant)

Anyone who was born in Oregon and needs to change their name or sex designation on their birth certificate to reflect their gender identity is eligible. Individuals who previously changed their name but have not changed their sex will be eligible to change their sex designation on their birth record under the law. (HB 2673)

The following people are eligible to submit the application:
  • The registrant - Must be 18 or older or an emancipated minor.
    (Court documentation of emancipation is required.)
  • A parent listed on the birth certificate (if the registrant is less than 18 years of age).
     
  • The registrant's legal guardian (if the registrant is less than 18 years of age).
    (Court documentation of guardianship is required.)

  • A legal representative of one of the above.
    (A notarized statement from one of the above stating that the legal representative is authorized to act on their behalf is required.)

On This Page:

THE APPLICATION PROCESS
Collect Information for the Application Process
Complete the Application
Sign/Notarize the Application
Items to Submit | Fees
Submit the Application, all Documentation, and Fees
Documentation you will receive after the application is processed
Will other agencies accept this new birth record?

CONTACT INFORMATION
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Collect Information for the Application Process

It is vital to enter all information on the application exactly as it currently appears on the registrant's most recent birth certificate that is registered with the state.

If you are unsure of what information is currently registered, we strongly recommend ordering one new certificate to assist in correctly filling out the application.

If you order a certificate for this purpose, it can be exchanged free of charge within one year of the date the certificate was issued. So, if you order and pay for a certificate before you submit the application, make sure to include that certificate for exchange with your application and amendment fee.

If the applicant is the registrant or a parent listed on the birth certificate and their name does not match what is currently listed on the birth certificate, proof of how their name was changed must be submitted.

Examples of proof include a court ordered name change or a name changed through marriage. If the applicant was married in Oregon, Oregon Vital Records can do a search for their marriage record.  If the applicant was married out of state, they must provide an original marriage certificate as proof of name change. (This is not the commemorative certificate completed at the wedding ceremony, but a printed document from the state's Vital Records Office.) Any original supporting documents submitted for this process will be returned to the applicant.

 

Complete the Application

Complete items 1-15 of the Application to Change the Name and/or Sex on a Record of Live Birth to Support Gender Identity (Form HB2673). Please type in answers or print clearly in blue or black ink. Incomplete forms may be subject to rejection. 

Do NOT sign the application until asked to do so by the Notary Public.

Wait to Sign this Section Graphic.jpg

Tips for completing items 1-15:

APPLICANT INFORMATION

#1:  This is the applicant's full, legal name. (Timothy Test Example not Tim T Example)

#2:  This is the applicant's residential address.

#3:  If the mailing address is the same as #2, leave blank or write N/A.

#4:  Provide the best number to reach the applicant by phone from the hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.

#5:  Provide the best address to reach the applicant by email from the hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.

#6:  Relationship examples include Mother, Father, Legal Representative, Guardian.

  • If applicant is also the registrant, write “Self"

REGISTRANT INFORMATION ON THE RECORD TO BE AMENDED

It is important to write information in this section as it appears on the registrant's birth certificate. Do NOT abbreviate names or provide initials (Jon for Jonathan or T. for Timothy)

#7:  Write the EXACT names that appear on the registrant's birth certificate. 

#8:  Provide the date of birth in the MM/DD/YYYY format. 

#9:  Write the sex that appears on the registrant's birth certificate.
  • M for Male
  • F for Female
  • U for Undetermined
#10: List either the city or county of birth.

#11: List the Mother/Parent A's full name at the Mother/Parent A's birth as it appears on the registrant's birth certificate.

NOTE: Inaccurate information is often provided for this number, causing the application to be rejected and returned to the applicant for resubmission. Please read these directions carefully.
  • For the mother/parent A, this with be their name at their birth or prior to their first marriage as it appears on the registrant's birth certificate.
  • This may have several different labels and box numbers, depending on the year the registrant was born and what certificate was requested.
    • Maiden Surname (box 7b of some birth certificates)
    • Name Prior to First Marriage (box 5b, 5c, or 6c of some birth certificates)
    • Mother of Child (Maiden Name) (box 8 of some birth certificates)
  • On some birth certificates, the last name at the mother/parent A's birth is listed alone in its own box, often labeled “Maiden Surname." Make sure to write the maiden surname with the first and middle name.

In the below example, the registrant's mother was born with the name of Mary Fake Test.  Her name was Mary Fake Example when the registrant was born.
Mary Fake Test should be written in #11. 

HB2673 11.jpg 

  • The mother's name at her birth is much easier to identify in the below birth certificate. The whole name is recorded under “Name Prior to First Marriage."
    HB2673 11a.jpg

#12: List the Father/Parent B's full name as it appears on the registrant's birth certificate.
  • If only one parent is listed on the current certificate, write N/A in the blank parent's section.

# 13a: If changing the registrant's name, make sure to check the box and provide how the new name should appear for the new birth certificate.

#14a/b: If changing the sex, check the box in 14a and choose the box of the new sex in 14b.
  • M – male
  • F – female
  • X – non-binary

#15: If requesting a new copy of the updated birth certificate, check the box and indicate how many copies and which type of certificate you would like sent to you. See Fees (below) for more information.

IMPORTANT:
If ANY words are crossed out or any white out is used on the form, the application will be rejected.
 If you make a mistake, fill out the form again completely. If you are able to save the form to a computer or the cloud and fill it out with a keyboard, you can reprint it if you find and fix any errors.

Sign/Notarize the Application

The applicant must take the completed application to a Notary Public and sign it in the presence of the notary.

When signing the form be sure to use the name as it appears on the ID being submitted with the order. These will need to match.

A Notary Public can be found in many places of business. Banks, insurance companies and shipping or document preparation companies will often have a Notary Public.

Items to Submit | Fees

1.     Application to Change the Name and/or Sex on a Record of Live Birth to Support Gender Identity (Form HB2673).

2.     A legible copy of a current, valid government-issued photo ID for the applicant. The ID must have your current legal name.

  • This includes a driver's license, permit, or ID card; passport or passport card; armed service ID card; permanent resident card; and Tribal ID card. Visit this web page for a complete listing of acceptable forms of ID.

If the applicant is the registrant's parent and their ID does not match the name listed on the registrant's birth certificate, proof of how the applicant's name was changed must be submitted.

Examples of proof include a court ordered name change or a name changed through marriage. If the applicant was married in Oregon, Oregon Vital Records can do a search for their marriage record. If the applicant was married out of state, they must provide an original marriage certificate as proof of name change. (This is not the commemorative certificate completed at the wedding ceremony, but a printed document from the state's Vital Records Office.) Any original supporting documents submitted for this process will be returned to the applicant.

3.     A $35 Amendment Fee

4.     Certificate Fees (If requesting a new copy of the updated birth certificate, (# 15 on the application).

  • Registrants born in 2008 or later: $25 - For each computer issued birth certificate.
  • Registrants born before 2008 have two options:
    • $25 - For each computer issued birth certificate.
      • The computer issued certificate for births before 2008 (also called short form) is a printout of the following birth information:
        • Full name of registrant
        • Date of birth
        • County of birth
        • State file date
        • Mother/Parent A's full name/Maiden
        • Mother/Parent A's state of birth
        • Father/Parent B's full name
        • Father/Parent B's state of birth
        • State file number

    • $30 – For each full image birth certificate that shows full birth information.
      • The full image certificate (also called long form) is a copy of the original paper or microfilm birth record. It contains the above information as well as:
        • Time of birth
        • Name of hospital or birth facility
        • Mother/Parent A's address
        • Parents dates of birth
        • Parents ages
        • Signature of certifier
LEARN MORE

Visit our Types of Birth Records in Oregon web page for more information about the computer issued and full image options for the birth certificate.

  • Please submit one payment that includes all amendment and certificate fees:

    • Oregon Vital Records accepts checks and money orders for mail and drop box orders.
    • Checks and money orders should be made out to Oregon Vital Records.
    • If you recently ordered and paid for a birth certificate within the last year and would like it replaced with a new certificate, return the birth certificate with your application and amendment fee. We will issue you your new certificate to replace the one you exchanged free of charge. Note, if you want more than one new certificate, you will need to pay for those additional copies.

Submit the Application, all Documentation, and Fees

 By Mail:                           By Drop Box: Located at the entrance of the west door (in parking lot).

Oregon Vital Records       Oregon Vital Records       
PO Box 14050                  800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97293          Portland, OR 97232

                                         Make sure all items are in a sealed envelope when using the drop box.
 HB2673 11b.jpg


Documentation you will receive after the application is processed

Once all forms, documentation, and fees have been received, the application will be reviewed.

If the request to make an administrative change of name and/or sex to support gender identity is approved, the applicant will receive documentation that includes:

  • A copy of the application form requesting the change.
  • Correspondence from the State Registrar on the final decision.
  • A new birth certificate for the registrant (if requested on the application and payment was received).

If denied, the applicant will receive correspondence indicating the reason for denial.

Will other agencies accept this new birth record?

We cannot guarantee if other agencies will accept these amended certificates to change information already on file with the agency.

For records with an amended sex designation, nothing on the certificate will indicate an amendment occurred. This may make it difficult to connect the current record with any previous name on file at other agencies. In some cases, agencies might require a court order to recognize the new name and/or sex. We will work with applicants that ask us to explain the process to another agency, but we do not control the rules or procedures of other agencies and cannot speak for them. 


CONTACT INFORMATION 

Please contact our Amendment Unit at CHS.Amendments@dhsoha.state.or.us or 971-673-1190 if you have a question about this process or need help explaining this process to another agency.