Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

State Rules and Statutes

Statute and Administrative Rule for the Law 

Tobacco retailers are responsible for making sure their employees follow federal, state and local tobacco product and inhalant delivery system (also known as vaping product or e-cigarette) regulations. Violations are issued to the retailer, as defined in OAR 333-015-0207. Review ORS to learn more about requirements for tobacco retailers in Oregon. For more information on compliance with Tobacco Retail License requirements please see the Tobacco Retail Licensing Training Manual for Retailers.

  • ORS 167.755: Selling tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems to a person under 21 years of age. Note: the tobacco retailer is responsible for ensuring all staff do not sell these products to a person under 21 years of age. As of January 1, 2022, per Oregon legislation, violations are issued to the retailer as defined in OAR 333-015-0207.
  • ORS 431A.175ORS 167.770: Posting signs about selling tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems
  • ORS 431A.183: Random inspections of tobacco product or inhalant delivery system sellers
  • ORS 431A.175ORS 167.770: Sale of tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems
  • ORS 167.780ORS 167.765: Location of tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems

Recent Legislative Updates

In 2021, the Oregon Legislature passed Senate Bill 587, which requires retailers to get a license to sell tobacco products and e-cigarettes. As of January 1, 2022, any retailer selling tobacco or vaping products in Oregon must have a license

Senate Bill 587 also removed tobacco purchase, use, and possession penalties for youth under the age of 18. An overview of resources to help young people who want to quit smoking or vaping are available here or on Smokefree Oregon.

The Oregon Legislature also passed HB 2261 in 2021, which prohibits the online sale of inhalant delivery systems effective January 1, 2022.  Information about delivery sales bans is available from the Oregon Department of Justice. You can report a violation of the online sales ban with this form.  

Contact Us:

Phone: 971- 673-2283