Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Sewage Disposal Service Business Licensing

ydo-texticon10.png
Please note: DEQ's Sewage Disposal Service License Program has moved to a new electronic data management system called Your DEQ Online. SDS licensees will now use YDO to apply, renew, update or make changes to their licenses. Learn more about Your DEQ Online.

Do you need a Sewage Disposal Service license?

Oregon law requires that you must have a license if intending to work on a subsurface sewage disposal system, also known as a septic system, and before you advertise or represent yourself in the business of providing sewage disposal services. The license is a Sewage Disposal Service or SDS license. 

Sewage Disposal Services Include:

  • Constructing any kind of septic systems, or any part of it. This includes grading, excavating and earthmoving work connected with these activities.
  • Pumping, transporting and disposing of contents from any kind of septic system, including graywater tanks or systems and non-water-carried sewage disposal facilities such as portable toilets.
  • Advertising or offering to perform any of the services mentioned above.

Licensing Steps

1. Determine the license type you need:

  • Installer only
  • Pumper only
  • Combined Pumper/Installer

2. Complete required pre-license training required for Installer and Pumper/Installer licenses by attending the DEQ Initial Installer Certification course offered by Chemeketa Community College.

3. File your Corporation, LLC, Partnership and/or Assumed Business Name with the Secretary of State Corporate Division.  Read Start a Business guide for information about how to set up your business.

4. Contact your insurance agent to obtain a Sewage Disposal Service Bond for $15,000 for Installer or Pumper/Installer licenses, and $5,000 for Pumper only licenses. Sign the original bond and assure the bond agent or company has affixed the corporate seal of the surety company. The bond company will access the DEQ form to issue your bond. You do not need to print it.

5. For Pumper or Pumper/Installer license applications:

  • Print both pages of the Equipment Description/Vehicle Inspection form complete just the first page. Contact a local Onsite septic program agent to perform the inspection. The inspector will return the original form to you.
  • Contact your disposal sites to arrange a documented disposal agreement so they can accept the waste you will pump. Photocopy that disposal agreement.

6. Starting Dec. 7, 2022, you’ll need to set up a user account in Your DEQ Online as a Responsible Official (RO) using instructions on the Your DEQ Online account registration page. This includes a step-by-step user guide, recorded webinar and available dates to attend a live webinar. 

7. Once your account is verified, go to the My Info section of your account and select the Sewage Disposal Service program, and then you may apply and pay for a new license. During this process, you'll be asked to upload required attachments for the license application.

8. Once you have finished preparing your SDS license application in Your DEQ Online, follow application review instructions to submit the following:

  • Original sealed and signed bond. Failure to complete this step correctly will delay issuance of your license. Not accepted: Photocopies of bonds or bonds without a Surety seal or your signature.
  • Original completed vehicle inspections if applying as a Pumper or Pumper/Installer.

Contacts

For questions about Sewage Disposal Services licenses, contact:

For technical help with Your DEQ Online, visit the Your DEQ Online Help page or email yourdeqonline@deq.oregon.gov