Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program
Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, electric vehicle purchases made in Oregon are eligible to submit an initial Phase I application
for a rebate under the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate program. DEQ will require submission of a Phase 2 application at a later date, once funding is available.
On Aug. 18, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed HB 2017 which, among many other transportation investments, establishes a program to provide rebates to Oregonians who purchase certain types of electric vehicles (including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles) and other qualifying zero-emissions vehicles (ZEVs). This program was designed by the Oregon Legislature to encourage higher adoption of ZEVs, reducing air pollution and advancing progress toward the state’s greenhouse gas reduction goals.
The provisions of HB 2017 establishing this program became effective on Oct. 6, 2017. However, under the legislation, rebates can’t be made until there are sufficient funds available from the new privilege tax introduced by the legislation to fund this ZEV rebate program. While the state will begin collecting funds on Jan. 1, 2018, the amount of funds collected will not be sufficient to start granting rebates until the summer of 2018.
In May 2018, the Zero Emission and Electric Vehicle Rebate rules were adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission (DEQ's policy commission). Key program elements include:
- Standard rebates of $1500 or $2500 towards the purchase or lease of a new plug-in hybrid or battery electric vehicle (rebate amount depends upon the battery capacity)
- Charge Ahead rebates of $2500 for the purchase or lease of any new or used battery electric vehicle. Only low and moderate income households may qualify for the Charge Ahead rebates
- Eligible vehicles must have a base MSRP of less than $50,000
To learn more about program requirements or additional information:
To receive notice when additional information is available on this rebate program, sign up the OCVRP GovDelivery list.