Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

About Electric Vehicle Rebate Program

The Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program is open from April 3 – June 3, 2024. Vehicles purchased or leased either before April 3, 2024, or on or after June 4, 2024, are not eligible to apply for the state rebates. Applicants have six months from date of purchase or lease to apply for rebates. Once funds are depleted, qualified applicants are put on a waiting list for 2025. Low- and moderate-income households can prequalify for the $5,000 Charge Ahead rebate by completing the application.

On Aug. 18, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed HB 2017 which, among many other transportation investments, establishes a program to provide rebates to Oregonians who purchase certain types of electric vehicles (including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles) and other qualifying zero-emissions vehicles. This program was designed by the Oregon Legislature to encourage higher adoption of ZEVs, reducing air pollution and advancing progress toward the state's greenhouse gas reduction goals.

In May 2018, the Zero-Emission and Electric Vehicle Rebate rules were adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission, DEQ's policy and rulemaking board. This established the program's requirements.

In December 2018, DEQ began issuing rebates. Participation in the program has steadily grown since its inception, with over 29,000 rebates issued as of March 7, 2024. Rebate availability is dependent on program funding at the time of vehicle purchase or lease. Visit the Available Rebate Funding page before your purchase or lease to confirm rebate availability.

DEQ receives 45% of the state's Vehicle Privilege Tax or at least $12 million per year for the program. It does not have a sunset date.


For questions, please contact the Center for Sustainable Energy at  or 855–383-4425.

envelopeGreen.gif Sign up for email updates on the Oregon Clean Vehicle Program.