Skip to main content Homepage

Gilder Lehrman Preserve American History Teacher of the Year Award

Congratulations Oregon Teachers!

The Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award honors outstanding teachers of American history across the country. The History Teacher of the Year Award, under the rubric of Preserve America, recognizes outstanding American history teachers from elementary school through high school, and the crucial importance of American history education. Finalists are selected from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and U.S. Territories. From these local winners, a national honoree is recognized as the National Preserve America History Teacher of the Year. 

Additional information can be found at the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History web site.

Oregon History Teacher of the Year Winners

2016 - Andrew Demko
Rainier Junior/Senior High School

2015 - Sarah Segal
Hood River Middle School

2014 - Clint Rodreick
Phoenix High School

2013 - Anna Meunier
Jacksonville Elementary School

2012 - Sol Joye
Neil Armstrong Middle School
Forest Grove School District

2011 - Karen Olsen
McCornack Elementary School
Eugene School District

2010 - Marsha Klosterman
Siuslaw Middle School, Florence
Siuslaw School District

2009 - Patty Sage
Guy Lee Elementary, Springfield
Springfield School District

2008 - Ernest Sowards
Lord High School, Woodburn
Willamette ESD

2007 - Margaret Cowens
Manzanita Elementary, Grants Pass
Three Rivers School District

2006 - Lois Cowell
South Middle School, Grants Pass
Three Rivers School District

2005 - James Harms
Waldo Middle School, Salem
Salem/Keizer School District

2004 - Kristie Duyckinck
Century High School, Hillsboro
Hillsboro School District 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how