Skip to main content Homepage

Teacher Recognition

Overview of Teacher Recognition

The Oregon Department of Education is proud to recognize and celebrate excellence in teaching.

  • Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award

    Since 1982, the Milken Educator Awards, an initiative of the Milken Family Foundation, have rewarded and inspired excellence in the world of education by honoring top educators around the country with $25,000 unrestricted awards. Not an accolade for “lifetime achievement” or the proverbial gold watch at the exit door, the Milken Educator Awards targets early-to-mid career education professionals for their already impressive achievements and, more significantly, for the promise of what they will accomplish in the future.

  • Oregon Teacher of the Year

    Every year, each of the 50 states names a teacher of the year. The Oregon Teacher of the Year Program started in 1955. The Oregon Teacher of the Year Program recognizes and honors teacher excellence, with the Teacher of the Year serving as the face and voice of exemplary educators across the state. Thanks to the Oregon Department of Education's partnership with the Oregon Lottery, the Oregon Teacher of the Year receives a gift award of $5,000 as well as a special fund to cover all travel costs for the year.

  • Oregon's National Board Certified Teachers

    National Board Certification concentrates education reform in the classroom-where teaching and learning takes place. National Board Certification is a demonstration of a teacher's practice as measured against high and rigorous standards.

  • Oregon Educator Talent Pool

    The Oregon Educator Talent Pool serves as a resource for educator recognition opportunities. This collection of Oregon's outstanding educators is used as a reference for awards, publicity, committee development, and other recognition opportunities.

  • Gilder Lehrman Preserve American History Teacher of the Year Award

    The Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award honors outstanding teachers of American history across the country. The History Teacher of the Year Award, under the rubric of Preserve America, recognizes outstanding American history teachers from elementary school through high school, and the crucial importance of American history education. Finalists are selected from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and U.S. Territories. From these local winners, a national honoree is recognized as the National Preserve America History Teacher of the Year.

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how