Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Title IV-B Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC)

The Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Center (CCLC) grant is a competitive grant authorized under Title IV, Part B of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) of 2015. The Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC grant is administered by the Oregon Department of Education (ODE) and provides funding for the establishment of community learning centers to provide before and after school, weekend, and/or summer school academic enrichment opportunities for students attending high priority and low-income schools to help them meet local and state academic standards in subjects such as reading and mathematics. In addition to academics, Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC grants may also offer participants a broad array of other services and programs, such as activities for youth development, service learning, nutrition and health education, drug and violence prevention, counseling programs, art, music, physical fitness and wellness programs, technology education programs, cultural programs, financial literacy programs and other ties to an in-demand industry sector or occupation. Additional services that promote parental engagement and family literacy instruction must also be provided.

The Oregon Department of Education is pleased to announce the 2018 Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC Request for Applications (RFA). Please visit the Grants & Guidance for Title IV-B webpage for more information.

Grants & Guidance

New! 2023-2028 Grant Competition Timeline. This page provides current information on grant opportunities, awards and resources in Oregon Department of Education's Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC Grant Program.

Monitoring & Annual Reports

This page provides links and resources related to Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC (Title IV-B) Monitoring, Annual Reports and Authorized Grant Amendment Procedures and forms.

Private School Participation

This page provides information regarding Private School Participation with the Title IV-B Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC Program.

Research and Resources

This page provides research and resources related to Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC priority topics.

Inclusion Resources

This page provides information inclusion resources for the Title IV-B NIta M. Lowey 21st CCLC Program.

The Oregon Department of Education 21st Century Community Learning Center (21st CCLC) grant has contracted with The Research Institute (TRI) at Western Oregon University to provide training, technical assistance and web-based support for 21st CCLC grantees statewide. The TRI team is excited to invite you to begin exploring and using the 21st CCLC website: The Research Institute (TRI)

The website has numerous features about current 21st CCLC grantee programs and practices:

  • Topic Areas
  • Featured Oregon 21st CCLC Program of the month
  • News and Events
  • Upcoming Events and Deadlines
  • News

For more information on this topic contact Raquel Gwynn.

Oregon Department of Education - Title IV-B Disclaimer of Endorsement:
The presentations and documents funded by Title IV-B 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) included in Oregon Department of Education (ODE) conferences, and/or posted on ODE web sites may include links to information and resources created by other public and private organizations. These resources, materials and links are provided for the user's convenience and to benefit program quality in Title IV-B. ODE does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of this non-ODE information. The inclusion of these links is not intended to reflect their importance, nor is it intended to endorse views expressed, or products or services offered, on non-ODE sites.

It is a policy of the State Board of Education and a priority of the Oregon Department of Education that there will be no discrimination or harassment on the grounds of race, color, sex, marital status, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation, or disability in any educational programs, activities or employment. Persons having questions about equal opportunity and nondiscrimination should contact the Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction at the Oregon Department of Education, 255 Capitol Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310; phone 503-947-5740; or fax 503-378-4772.