Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
  • Board of Cosmetology considers increased civil penalties for rule violations

    The Oregon Board of Cosmetology is considering new rules that would increase the fines for licensees who are repeatedly non-compliant with laws and rules. Another potential change would provide the board with the ability to suspend and revoke authorizations for repeated violations. 

    The proposed rules also increase fines for certain safety and infection-control penalties, including failure to disinfect foot spas and discard disposable articles. 

    The Health Licensing Office is requesting public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rules' substantive goals while reducing negative economic effects on businesses. 

    Proposed rules on civil penalty increases and authorization suspensions and revocations

    The public comment period runs Oct. 1 through 5 p.m. Nov. 30, 2015. A public hearing is scheduled for 10 a.m. Oct. 28 in the Rhoades Conference Room at the Health Licensing Office, 700 Summer St. NE (Veterans Building), Salem, OR.

    Sent written comments to:

    Samie Patnode
    Policy Analyst, Health Licensing Office
    Oregon Health Authority
    700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320
    Salem, OR, 97301-1287
    Phone: 503-373-1917
    Fax: 503-585-9114
    Email: samie.patnode@state.or.us

  • New cosmetology field of practice exams to be effective Jan. 1, 2016
    On Aug. 17, 2015, the Oregon Board of Cosmetology voted to adopt new blueprints for the barbering, hair design, esthetics and nail technology field of practice written examinations.

    The new exam blueprints provide career schools with the information they need to prepare for the new written exams, which will be implemented on Jan. 1, 2016.

    The blueprints, linked below, provide the following information for each exam: the number of questions, the time allotted, the sources used to reference each question, the percent of questions from each domain (or category), and the percent of questions asked from each skill set listed with in each category. The number of questions and the time allotted for exams has not changed; however, the percentage of questions from each domain and each skill set within each domain has changed substantially.

    HLO office hours for testing remain 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, and 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Tuesdays.

    If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Health Licensing Office at 503-373-1816 or check out our website.

    Barber exam blueprint
    Esthetics exam blueprint
    Hair exam blueprint
    Nail exam blueprint

    To stay up-to-date on Board of Cosmetology business, join our interested parties mailing list.
  • New rule adds two online renewal discounts
    HLO has adopted new administrative rules for the Board of Cosmetology regarding discounts for online renewals, effective July 1, 2015.
    The reduction discounts the Board of Cosmetology facility and independent contractor renewal fees when they renew online from $100 to $90. Since this is a high volume licensure group, it is less costly to administer than in-person renewals, and is more convenient for both the licensee and for HLO staff.

    If you have questions or need additional information, contact policy analyst Samie Patnode at 503-373-1917 or samie.patnode@state.or.us.
  • Upcoming HLO closures for state holidays

    Mark your calendar and note that the Health Licensing Office (and all State of Oregon agencies) will be closed on the following days:

    • Wednesday, Nov. 11 for Veterans Day
    • Thursday, Nov. 26 and Friday, Nov. 27 for Thanksgiving 
    • Friday, Dec. 25 for Christmas Day

    Examinations will not be offered, and licenses will not be issued on these days.

    Our regular office hours are 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays and 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on Tuesdays. Feel free to call 503-378-8667; calls will be returned the next business day. You can also email hlo.info@state.or.us.

  • HLO Legislative update

    At 6:04 p.m. on July 6, Oregon's 2015 Legislative Session officially adjourned. The Health Licensing Office (HLO) did not put forth any bills itself this session, but there were several sponsored by other parties that affect the boards under HLO's jurisdiction. These include:

    • House Bill 2296, which changes the name of the Board of Body Art Practitioners to the Board of Electrologists and Body Art Practitioners.
    • House Bill 2305, which permits people who complete polysomnographic program that combines education and training program to appy for polysomnographic technologist license.
    • House Bill 2642, which establishes the Board of Certified Advanced Estheticians within HLO.
    • House Bill 2796, which directs HLO to issue a license to practice music therapy to qualified applicants.
    • Senate Bill 696, which increases membership of the Behavior Analysis Regulatory Board.
    • Senate Bill 699, which broadens the exemption to provisions regulating cosmetology disciplines for people who prepare a person's hair solely for professional photography or theatrical performance.

    Read more details about the new bills in this memo. You can also sign up to be on our interested parties mailing list using this form.

  • Reminder: Renewals by mail and marking misdemeanor/felony boxes
    Just a reminder that when you are renewing your license, it’s important not to overlook the “Individual Records Questions” section of the form. In particular, we have had a trend of people sending in forms without answering these questions:

    “Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor since your last renewal/application?”


    “Are you currently on probation or parole?”

    To be clear, answering “yes” to these questions does not mean that your license will not be renewed. If the offense is not related to your profession, it will not impact your licensure. However, if you leave the question blank, your renewal will not be processed and it will be sent back to you. This can result in late fees.

    In addition, if you answer incorrectly, it can result in fines. Any misrepresentation or failure to disclose information may result in disciplinary action. If you are unclear about whether an offense reaches the level of misdemeanor or felony or unclear about whether a conviction has been expunged, please double-check before filling out the form. Inconsistencies between the information you submit and what is in the Law Enforcement Data System can result in action against you.
HLO Resources Current Topics

Online License Renewal

Renew computerIt's secure, speedy and saves you a stamp! HLO's online renewal feature is part of our ongoing efforts to provide customer service excellence and a streamlined regulatory environment.

Consumers Find Help at HLO 

Consumer HelpIf you can't resolve a problem or issue with a practitioner of one of the health and related professions HLO regulates, we can help. 

Check a License Holder's Status

Oregon License
Check our online database or to see if a professional is licensed or has been subject to disciplinary action (license suspension, probation or revocation).

Search Statewide Licensing Database

Find information and requirements for all Oregon licenses, certifications, permits and registrations in a single source, including those not overseen by the Health Licensing Office.

Resources for Facility Owners and Pract​itioners 

Hair design
The Health Licensing Office (HLO) offers the following resources to facility owners and practitioners to help you stay in compliance while protecting public health and safety and upholding professional standards. 

Find a Cosmetology School

The Higher Education Coordinating Commission has a database of Private Career Schools. Search it here (find "Hair Stylist/Nail Tech/Barbering/Esthetics" in the drop-down menu).


Board Recruitment

Are you interested in serving as a volunteer citizen board member? HLO-regulated boards seek new members as current board member terms expire. 
Current vacancies​​ ​​

Testing? Bri​​ng Identification, Correct Change for Parking

Applicants sitting for cosmetology examinations must
provide two forms of identification (one must be photographic). Also, if you are parking your vehicle in the Capitol Mall area, bring enough change for parking meters. Parking meter fees are $1.50 per hour.

​Stay Informed: Get on th​​e HLO Contact List

Stay updated on developments of the Health Licensing Office (HLO) and regulated professions by signing up to receive updates on licensing and regulatory issues, including meeting notices. 


Flu Facts: Get I​nformed, Stay​ Healthy 

Protect yourself, your family and your co-workers by getting vaccinated and staying informed. The fewer of us who get sick from either seasonal influenza or pandemic H1N1 influenza, the more we can reduce the impact in our schools and workplaces. Visit the state's flu website or call the state hotline at 1-800-978-3040.