Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Recycling System Advisory Council

The Oregon Recycling System Advisory Council or Recycling Council will advise DEQ and the Producer Responsibility Organizations on key recycling system elements, including the uniform statewide collection list, PRO program plans, and more. The council consists of 17 members appointed by the Governor, plus 2 non-voting members of the Legislature appointed by the Senate President and Speaker of the House. Members of the Council represent local governments, community-based organizations representing the interests of historically underserved groups, small business, environmental nonprofit organizations, the recycling industry, service providers, processors or material end users and producers of covered products or producer trade associations or suppliers. 

The Recycling Council is an advisory body. The council will review key elements in the recycling system and provide recommendations to DEQ and the PROs. The council's duties begin during the initial development and implementation phase prior to July 2025 and continue throughout ongoing implementation in perpetuity.

The Recycling Council adopted rules at their August 2022 meeting. View the adopted rules.
  • ​​Dan Felton, Ameripen
    Representing: Producers

  • Dylan de Thomas, The Recycling Partnership
    Representing: Producers​

  • Sergio Garcia-Cruz, Centro Cultural
    Representing: Community-based organizations

  • Sen. Bill Kennemer, Oregon Senate
    Representing: Oregon Senate (non-voting)

  • Scott Keller, Beaverton
    Representing: Local Government 

  • Steve Kramer, Wasco County
    Representing: Local Government

  • Laura Leebrick, Rogue Waste Systems
    Representing: Recycling Industry

  • Angie Marzano, Lane County
    Representing: Local Government

  • Rep. Susan McLain, Oregon House of Representatives
    Representing: Oregon House (non-voting)

  • Celeste Meiffren-Swango, Environment Oregon
    Representing: Environmental Non-Profit

  • Gary R. Panknin, Pak Tec
    Representing: Producers

  • Pam Peck, Metro
    Representing: Local Government

  • Jason Pierzina, International Paper
    Representing: Recycling Industry

  • Joan Popowics, Procter & Gamble
    Representing: Producers

  • ​Alando Simpson, City of Roses Disposal & Recycling
    Representing: Recycling Industry

  • Vinod Singh, Far West Recycling
    Representing: Recycling Industry

  • Elizabeth Start, Start Consulting Group
    Representing: Small Business

  • Carolyn Stein, BRING Recycling
    Representing: Environmental Non-Profit

  • Taylor Cass Talbott, Trash for Peace
    Representing: Community Based Organizations

​​​Oregon Recycling System Advisory Council Meeting // Reunión Consejo Asesor del Sistema de Reciclaje de Oregon 

Meeting 5: Feb. 16, 2023, 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Register for t​he meeting​ 
An agenda will be posted here at least one week before the meeting.

Previous meetings

Meeting 4: Dec. 15, 2022

Meeting 3: Oct. 20, 2022

Meeting 2: Aug. 18, 2022

Meeting 1: May 11, 2022 

Biennial legislative reports



Cheryl Grabham, 503-504-7906
Materials Management Program Manager