Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Municipal Stormwater Resources

Permitting resources

MS4 Phase II resources

​​WA Department of Ecology BMP webpage

​The MS4 Phase II general permit authorizes stormwater discharges from small MS4s located with an Urbanized Area in accordance with the Phase II of the federal stormwater rules (40 Code of Federal Regulations 122.32). In 2012, the Census Bureau published the final listing of urbanized areas for the 2010 Census. An urbanized area is a densely settled territory with a population of at least 50,000 people.

MS4s that are located within the new urbanized area boundaries are subject to stormwater regulation, unless waivers are submitted and approved by DEQ. The 2010 Census delineated 12 new jurisdictions that they may now subject to the stormwater program. DEQ approved five waivers. The seven remaining communities will be required to apply for permit coverage under the stormwater program.

  • ​Albany
  • Eagle Point
  • Grants Pass
  • Millersburg
  • Rogue River
  • Josephine County
  • Linn County

  • ​Gold Hill
  • Jefferson
  • Milton-Freewater
  • Tangent
  • Umatilla County

​​​There are two waiver options available to communities of automatically designated small MS4s if discharges do not cause or have the potential to cause, water quality impairment. For more information, EPA generated a new MS4 fact sheet.


For general information about NPDES MS4 Stormwater Discharge Permits, contact the program by email or by phone, 503-229-5347. 

Coming Soon: MS4 Permit Newsletter

DEQ MS4 staff will be launching a newsletter aimed at providing information for current and potential MS4 permit registrants. These newsletters will be distributed periodically and will contain information about useful resources, hot topics, and general technical assistance. 

If you have questions about this newsletter, feel free to reach out to the MS4 Staff at