PSI Testing Centers will re-open on May 1, 2020, and social distancing protocols will be followed for test takers. To alleviate scheduling issues due to the temporary closure, all currently approved candidates will have two additional months added to their one year exam-eligibility period.
Oregon law requires owners of wastewater systems and drinking water systems (public and private) to have their systems under responsible control and direction of certified operators. Trained and certified operators are necessary to ensure that the systems are managed in a manner that fully protects public health and the environment.
The Department of Environmental Quality administers the program for domestic wastewater system operators. The Oregon Health Authority Drinking Water Services administers the certification program for drinking water system operators.
The extension for certificates that expired on June 30, 2020, ends Oct. 15, 2020. If you mail your renewal application documents, postmarked
after October 15, the standard reinstatement policy applies, and the additional $120 reinstatement fee is due, along with the $160 renewal fee. You also may not supervise a wastewater system after Oct. 15, 2020 with a certification in expired status.
Approved training for CEU credit
- CEU Lookup: Select the “Courses" tab at the top to view DEQ-approved wastewater continuing education units (CEUs)
Wastewater CEU Options
Approved training for Operator in Training (OIT)
and Provisional Grade I
(when applicant has less than 12 months experience, see Application Instructions Page 1
Documents courtesy of the Association of Boards of Certification
Find certified operators by name
Find applicants/operators who passed the exam by date
Find Designated System Supervisory Wastewater Operators by Facility