Beginning Sept. 30, 2021, you can start setting up your YDO account to submit permit applications, required permit reports, and pay invoices related to stormwater general permits.
Visit Your DEQ Online Help page to learn more, access training materials and see the upcoming schedule of live training webinars on how to register with YDO.
About stormwater permits
Stormwater runoff from land and impervious areas such as paved streets, parking lots, and building rooftops during rainfall and snow events often contain pollutants that could adversely affect water quality. National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits are required for stormwater discharges to surface waters from construction and industrial activities and municipalities if stormwater from rain or snow melt leaves your site through a "point source" and reaches surface waters either directly or through storm drainage. A point source is a natural or human-made conveyance of water through such things as pipes, culverts, ditches, catch basins, or any other type of channel.
The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission authorized delegation to DEQ Director Leah Feldon for the 2023 Water Quality fee rulemaking. Director Feldon adopted rule amendments in September 2023 to increase water quality fees. New fees will be on invoices starting in November 2023, to cover costs associated with implementing the permitting program and delivering services to regulated entities. The fee increase was a total of 3% authorized by statute (ORS 468B.051) effective Nov. 1, 2023. Please note that the fees from the following permits were excluded from the 3% increase as noted below:
- UIC Fees authorized by Rule
- 700PM fees authorized by Oregon Revised Statute 468B.118
To learn about future fee increases, please sign-up for text or email updates about the Water Quality program online and select Water Quality Fees.
Current fees, effective Nov. 1, 2023
The fees for stormwater general permit applications are $2,898, which includes:
- The $1,429 application fee
- The $1,469 first annual fee
Both the application and first annual fee must be included with the application materials. An annual fee will be assessed each year coverage is maintained.
- The exception is small lot 1200-C registrations, which have a one-time cost of $418.
- If you are applying for a construction stormwater registration and an Environmental Managment Plan or Active Chemical Treatment System plan review is required as part of the application materials, an additional plan review fee of $897 may be assessed.
- The fee to transfer permit coverage or change the name of a permit registrant is $139.
Fee tables for stormwater permits:
Application and renewal formsImportant
: Permit copies available for download below are for reference purposes only
. An application must be submitted to the Oregon DEQ for coverage under the general National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System stormwater discharge permits. Applicants receive a signed copy of the permit when coverage is issued.
NPDES General Stormwater Discharge Permits 1200-C
DEQ Stormwater Permitting is now operating in DEQ's newest online platform, called Your DEQ Online. You can set up your account and submit notifications and fees electronically. All applications, notifications and reports will be on Your DEQ Online and will not be available in PDF or Word format.
Construction activities - one acre or more
Permit registration application forms
1200-CN Stormwater Construction: Automatic coverage within "Local Qualified Program" jurisdictions
An owner or operator that has received a local permit authorizing construction activities is not required to submit an application for permit coverage to DEQ. The construction activities are automatically covered under the State 1200-CN permit.
DEQ is accepting applications from public entities to register for 1200-CA permit coverage.
Please see Table 70G
for application and annual fees.
NPDES General Stormwater Discharge Permits1200-Z Permit
DEQ Stormwater Permitting is now operating in DEQ's newest online platform, called Your DEQ Online. You can set up your account and submit notifications and fees electronically. All applications, notifications and reports will be on Your DEQ Online and will not be available in PDF or Word format.Permit registration application forms
Permit registration renewal application form
- No fees required at time of renewal
NPDES Individual Stormwater Discharge PermitsMunicipalities with populations greater than 100,000
NEW Permit Registration Application Forms
NPDES Individual Stormwater Discharge Permits
Municipalities with populations less than 100,000
Permit registration application forms
Permit Registration RENEWAL Application Forms
For more information contact the Water Quality Permit Coordinator in the DEQ regional office nearest you.